Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lauren

Personal Details

Reference # 201-65308
Name Lauren
Nationality South African
Age 24
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans(3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)VW Polo 1.2 TSi
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2013

Education

Secondary Education
St Marys D.S.G - 2013
Tertiary Education

IMM College - B.com Marketing - 2014-2016 

Cape Town school of photography - photography course - 2015 

US - Jewellery design course - 2015

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI just babysat when Colleen needed me to help out.2010-2013. Stopped because I moved but will babysit when home in holidays in Durban again.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Colleen has five children. I babysat them when they were between the ages of 2 and 13. Colleen has 3 girls and two boys.
What were your duties?Play with them, make dinner, bath them and put them to sleep.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2016- March 2017. I moved to Cape Town
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One 6 year old.
What were your duties?I was a part time au pair for the Hartleys.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
False Bay
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2010.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Family friends and family.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?2 years old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Run, paint, draw, dance and spend time with friends.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love the energy and happiness of children. I love to see them grow and learn.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing, drawing swimming, cooking.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on how bad the situation was I would call the ambulance then contact the parents. If I could manage the situation I would phone my mum, who is a qualified nurse, and ask her what to do.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?My cousin fell back and hit his head on the floor. I picked him up and comforted him then we watched some TV until he calmed down.
What is your approach to discipline?Firm but kind.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would come down to their level and ask them what they were screaming about and try talk to them about the situation. If the child continued to have a tantrum I would give them a time-out.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain to the child that drawing on the wall is not allowed. If they continued to draw on the wall I would confiscate the drawing item, i.e. crayon, and give them a time out.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would say to the child, "lets finish our homework, then we can go play outside and have a snack."
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?2-17 years old
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I babysit on occasion for my aunt and our family friends. I also still occasionally babysit for my reference, Colleen, when I am home for the holidays.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a fun and loving person. I am easy going and open minded. I am positive, determined and I love spending time with family.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs
LunchToasted sandwiches
DinnerRoast chicken and vegetables
SnackRice cakes, fruit and nuts
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
How do you handle a crying baby?I would pick the baby up and put it over my shoulder, pat him and sing to him until he has calmed down.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Just make sure all their basic needs are met, and make sure that they are safe.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Basic puzzles, reading a story, building with big lego blocks and teaching them little songs. Try to do inter-active activities like teach them how to draw and play games with them and swing and play outside. We would play with a big ball outside.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?I would go down to their level and try to get them to explain what the problem is and try to get them to calm down. I will leave for home if it gets too serious.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?I will explain the process, put them down on the potty, demonstrate on the toilet what they must do and just wait patiently for them to do it and then give recognition when they have done it.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?Yes it is very important to play outside and not just be preoccupied with activities inside. It teaches them to interact socially if they play with other children.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Puzzles, basic reading books, play dough which enable them to be creative and make things, coloring in. Basic maths with big objects and play with educationally appropriate toys.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?To get down to their level and ask them what their problem is. Explain to them what they have done is wrong and that time out is the consequence.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
I am not a fan of cartoons. I think  they should watch educational programs like National Geographic and educational programs on Disney channel. They should onl watch half an hour to an hour of TV per day.I will prefer to do activities which will keep them occupied. TV watghing is a last resort or for a break.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes I will happily do that.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes can help them up until grade 10. Not full on Afrikaans though but I will be able to help with other subjects like maths.
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?
Yes. Within reason like play dates.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes I will stay with them.
What kind of outings would you organise for the children?

Outings to the parks, the public swimming pool, or to sometimes watch a movie, and other child related activities in the area. I like to do activities like something physical, like kicking a ball in the park. Playing catch and other physical games.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?

After home work I will entertain them by playing ball and  games like catch and stuck in the mud, swimming and jumping on the trampoline, drawing, playing cricket in the garden. I would like to encourage and participate in their interests, like teaching them to take nice photographs, to bake etc.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children? Yes I like to pack healthy meals.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual? Very. My dad has always taught me to be very organized and punctual.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have a mum and a dad who are still happily married. I have a brother in grade 12 who I adore and get along with very well. I have lots of cousins, both older and younger than me. Spending time with my family is one of my favourite things to do. My dad is a quantity surveyor and has his own business and my mom used to be a nurse. My younger brother is in Matric and at boarding school.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.