Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Robyn Lee

Personal Details

Reference # 201-65208
Name Robyn Lee
Nationality South African
Age 25
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English ( 1st), Afrikaans (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Honda Jazz, 2013
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2012

Education

Secondary Education
Glenwood House College-2012
Tertiary Education
UCT-BSc in Occupational Therapy-2013-2016
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving1 year, 2013, I left to start my studies.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, Male, aged 11 and 12.
What were your duties?Fetching from school, taking to sport, helping with homework. i also helped in Briget's Occupational Therapy practice.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingDuring 2011. I left to start studying.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl, aged 14. 
What were your duties?I had to do activities with her that aided her condition to improve and to help her develop.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2012
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved in child care because I have always had an affinity for children. In my gap year I advertised myself as an au pair and obtained work in that way. During school I did part time baby sitting and au pairing for family friends.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy playing tennis, reading, baking and crafts.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I am genuinely passionate about being able to provide care to a child. I take pride in being able to handle children in a calm and professional manner.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing games Baking Arts & crafts Outings (e.g. to the science center or aquarium)
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would keep calm and professional at all times, and contact the parent to inform them of the emergency and what they would like me to proceed with next. If the parent is not available I will use my own reasoning to handle the emergency as calmly as possible to reach a resolution.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I cared for a girl who had autism together with intellectual disability, she at times would ask me to please leave, due to the symptoms of her disability. When it happened the first time I consulted her mother about it who advised me to be stern but very calm with the child, and continue as though she had not asked me to leave. I also consulted with the girls occupational therapist who advised me on appropriate activities to engage in with the child as to keep her interested and more willing.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe I am fair, calm and professional when it comes to discipline, whilst still being friendly and approachable.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would calmly ask the child to stop screaming (whatever the reaction is that they are having in the tantrum) The second time I ask the child I will include a consequence if they do not stop having their tantrum and the 3rd time I ask, the consequence will be enforced. (2nd and third, only if the child has not responded to calmly being asked to stop).
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will ask the child to please stop drawing on the wall, then I will explain to the child that they are not allowed to draw on the wall, making sure that they don´t feel like they are in trouble but focusing more on understanding that they are n´t allowed to do it so that it does n´t happen again. I would then make an activity out of cleaning the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain the consequences of not doing homework to the child. I would also discuss with the parent if there is a toy or item I can use as leverage to do their homework that they are comfortable with me using (e.g. if the child finishes their homework they can play on their iPad for15 minutes)
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All age groups
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?None because I am a full time student and had to move from George to Cape Town for my stuies.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?None
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am an outgoing, bubbly, kind and happy person. I am very energetic, fun and creative whilst maintaining professionalism and organization.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs and low GI toast
LunchWhole wheat wrap with chicken, lettuce, cucumber, tomato, mayonnaise filling.
DinnerLasagne & a Greek salad.
SnackNuts & yoghurt.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My mum is a registered dietitian and has her own practice as well as consults to the hospitals in the area. My dad is a project manager and has his own company called Davison Construction, specializing in farm buildings (dairy´s big packing sheds etc.) My brother is a 2nd year investments management student at the university of Stellenbosch and stays in the Helshoogte residence. We grew up on a farm in the Wilderness, where we have lots of animals! My parents are still happily married and now that my brother and I are at university we enjoy going home to the farm in our holidays. Our farm is next to a lake so we spend a lot of our time on the water!

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.