Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Carmen

Personal Details

Reference # 201-65148
Name Carmen
Nationality South African
Age 23
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st); English (2nd); Dutch (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Mini Cooper 1.6; 2007 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2014

Education

Secondary Education
Paarl Gimnasium High
Tertiary Education

Au Pair Course - House O Orange - June 2014

First Aid Level 1 - EDU CARE - June 2014

Intermediate Netherlands (A2/B1) - TAALTHUIS - 2015

First aid Training Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2015 - end February 2016 . One year contract Visa expired.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 Children, ages, 5,6,8 (2 boys and 1 girl)
What were your duties?I had to care for the children from 7am to 7 pm. My duties included, getting the kids ready for school, pack their snacks for school, take them to school, fetch them from school, make them lunch, help them with homework, take them to extra mural activities, entertain them and prepare dinner. While the kids were at school I had to clean and do laundry. I had to plan my day carefully to get everything done.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm      
12pm-6pm      
6pm-6am      

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?2011 - 2016
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always babysat children and helped them with their homework. Last year I decided to au pair in the Netherlands. Taking care of kids and traveling are two things I really like to do.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?A 1 year old baby.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Going out with friends and socializing. Family time is also important. There needs to be a balance in family, social and work time. I like to go camping and love being outdoors.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Being a part of a child's life is a special thing, because you know you can make a difference in his/her life. After one year of au pairing in the Netherlands, I have learned that kids also want a carer that can do fun things with them and entertain them while their parents are working.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing outside, baking, doing arts and crafts, playing board games. I also like to spoil them with things they like to do.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Firstly I would do what the parents expect of me, for example, use the first aid, call emergency numbers and take them to the nearest hospital.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I child fell out of the tree and broke his tooth, I had to take him to the emergency room at the dentist.I had to stay calm and keep the child calm and look after the other kids as well. I had to think on my feet and multi-task.
What is your approach to discipline?Every family has their own rules and if its not followed, I would say something and also let the parents know when things go wrong. Communication is also very important to me. I will follow the parents discipline method.
How do you handle a crying baby?
I will check if the baby is hungry, check if the baby is tired, check if the baby has a fever and see to it that the baby's needs are met.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
To watch them the whole time and make sure they are safe and always make sure their needs are taken care off.
Can you prepare meals for infants?
Yes.
Have you ever bathed an infant before?
Yes.
Are you capable of looking after twins?
Yes.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?
Interaction is very important to learn social skills, to share toys, to learn from each other, to play in a group. Outdoor play is important for their muscle development, to keep them active and to enjoy the outdoors.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?
I will play memory games, play easy card games, build puzzles and blocks, paint and draw pictures with them etc.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
An hour a day.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?
Yes.
Are you willing to supervise friends of the children who are invited to their home while you are in charge?
Yes.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with the children’s homework?
Yes.
What kind of outings would you organize for the children?
We can go to the movies, we can go to the beach, we can go to the mall, play ten pin bowling etc.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?
Yes.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?
Yes, I had to learn to live by a routine and plan my day while I was au pairing in the Netherlands. I am a very neat person and look after my things.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?When a kid is getting out of control it is important to stay calm and try to figure out what the problem is and why they are reacting like they are. I will ignore the tantrum and talk to the child when he/she is done.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will immediately stop the child and let him/her know that what they are doing is wrong. Afterwards clean the wall with them because with every right there comes a responsibility.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will tell the child that everyone had to go through school to be successful and make something out of life. I will sit down and give him/her tips on how to make studying easier and not to make it so hard on themselves.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Between 5 - 15 year old children.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I´m a very easy going person and don´t need a lot to enjoy myself. I like to complete what is expected of me and then relax. I'm a friendly person and enjoy life to the fullest. I'm always honest about who I am.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes.
BreakfastBacon, eggs, french toast, mushrooms etc.
LunchSoup, baked bread, cakes, pasta salads etc.
DinnerPasta, Cottage pie, Rice with meat and potatoes etc.
SnackFruits, fresh cold vegetables, cut in pieces, nuts and anything else that is available in the house.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Tripe.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are a big and very happy family. I live with my parents. My father works at Novel Ford and my mother works at Allen Dale in the admin department.My mom and dad are very hard working and openhearted people. I have an older brother who is turning 24 this year and a sister who already turned 21. My brother studied at Elsenburg and is on his way to work on a farm in America and my sister studies B.Ed in Wellington. We are a very close family and love spending time together. We love the outdoors and to go camping together.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.