Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Abel

Personal Details

Reference # 201-65003
Name Abel
Nationality South African
Age 50
Gender Male
Marital Status Single
Languages English(2nd),Afrikaans(3rd),IsiXhosa(1st),Zulu(1st),Setswana(2nd),Sepedi(2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?No
5.Is your criminal record clear (i.e. no criminal record)?Yes
6. Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Tata Indica Vista Ignis 1.4-2011 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2005

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend high schoolJordan High School (Vereeniging)(1989)
What was your pass rate for MatricE aggregate
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?

Senior Primary Teachers Diploma

N6 Certificate:Art & Design

Dr. W.B. Rubusana College 1997(East London)

First aid TrainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2011- July 2015, resigned. I needed my pension out. I had heard that there would be trouble with the pensions. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Grade 4-7, 10-13 years
What were your duties?I taught EMS, Afrikaans (2nd language), Technology and Maths(Gr.7). Class teaching and associated administrative duties. Exam setting and testing. Report writing.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2007 - November 2007,contract ended.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?College students, boys and girls,15-18 years old.
What were your duties?

I taught entrepreneurship N4 to N5, drawing and painting for GR. 10, 11 and 12.

Lecturing Class and administration duties

  

Areas & Availability

Areas

PRETORIA
Pretoria North
Pretoria East
Pretoria Central and West
Pretoria Centurion

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am      

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?15 years as a teacher.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?By becoming a teacher.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?10 years old - 13yrs old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am very spiritual and I educate others about the word of GOD and the Bible.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Seeing the child being taken care of and offering guidance whenever needed.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Engaging in playing,drawing and painting activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I will remain calm. I will then call for a emergency service and inform the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?One of my learners in class was epileptic. One day he had fits.I remained calm and thought of how best to help him.
What is your approach to discipline?I am strict and firm when it comes to discipline but am aware it should be done to correct the behavior rather than to punish the child. It must be done with love and not dehumanize the child.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Wait patiently until the tantrum is over.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain to the child why it is not allowed and by making the child clean up the wall as it may discourage him from doing it again in the future.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain to him the importance of doing the homework,assist him to do a few questions and let him do the rest.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Children aged between 10-13 years
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I do not.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes a 5 year boy old born in 2011 and a 7 year old boy  born in 2008.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a very friendly person and easy to get along with.I love nice food,I love gadgets.I have a good sense of humor, am very creative and artistic.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastBacon,fried eggs,toast,sliced tomato,baked beans ,juice
LunchFried hake and chips,buttered rolls with sauce
DinnerLamb chops with pap,boerewors,chakalaka
SnackAssorted nuts with biltong on avocado
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have a close-knit and spiritual family.We are a family of four with the fifth member on his way.We enjoy having good times together.
What is your teaching style?
It varies and depends on the child that I am tutoring and teaching as each child is different. The teaching or tutoring style needs to be adapted to the child. 
Why do you teach/coach/tutor/facilitate?I have a passion for imparting knowledge.
Have you ever worked with or taught children with disabilities?
No I have not.
How can you help a child become an independent  learner?
I will assist the child by showing them the basics and once I am sure they understand get them to attempt the work on their own.
How long have you been tutoring/teaching?Since 1997.
What are your qualifications,certifications or credentials that assist you to tutor?I have a Senior Primary Teachers Diploma.
What subjects and grades can you teach?Grade 4-7
Have you worked before with kids or adults with learning/attention issues?
No, I have not.
How will you get a sense of a child's learning or attention needs?I will see that they they are struggling to complete tasks, have difficulty sitting still or they are becoming frustrated with the work.
What specific strategies have you found to be most successful when you start to work with a child?
When a child struggles I prefer to provide one-on-one guidance so that the child can flourish.
Can you tell me a little bit about your teaching philosophy?
My teaching style needs to be effective and enable the learner to understand the work. I adapt my style to the needs of the learner. Everyone comes from a different background/understanding etc so I adapt  the style in order to appeal to the individual learner. 
What kind of results can a parent see, and what happens if the child doesnt make progress? If the child doesn't progress, I will assess and adapt and change the teaching style to be  more effective.
What factors might interfere with achieving your tutoring goals for a child?
If a child has attention or behavioral issues.
How specifically, would you help a child with the problem he has had with staying motivated?
I would encourage them and reward them for small achievements.
How will you communicate with parents of children you are teaching or tutoring and how often?
I would communicate weekly with the parents. Notifying them of the child's progress, challenges and what is expected in terms of home-work and parental support
How will you work and communicate with a child's teachers? I would meet with them to discuss progress. I feel there is a need to be involved. One needs to work as a unit between the parents and teachers.
How do you measure progress?
This would be measured by how well the child is doing in exams/tests.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.