Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Stephanie

Personal Details

Reference # 201-64915
Name Stephanie
Nationality South African
Age 24
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Fiesta 2006 Model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2013

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend highschoolRandpark High School in 2013
What was your passrate for Matric73%
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?

BA:  Psychology: 3 year degree: University of Pretoria (completed 2016)

BHons:Augmentative and alternative communication: 2 year Masters (currently in 1st year)(2017) 

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingLeft in the beginning of the year due to time constraints and unforeseen university commitments.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?14(2015)year old girl. Worked from January till November 2015
What were your duties?A weekly English Tutor
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingWas not a permanent position
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children 9(2014) month old boy & 1 girl 5 (2014) Was an Australian family. December Holidays I cared for their children.
What were your duties?To entertain and look after the children from the mornings 9am until 4pm.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton
PRETORIA
Pretoria East

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeCompletely negotiable
Part timeR80 excl transport neg. depending on area and extra after midnight.

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?1 year
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always had a passion and love for children of various ages. This drove me to get involved in the lives of children. Babysitting and Au pairing is the next step that I would like to take.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?9 months
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am currently employed as a tutor with Tutors@your service, however I am not currently tutoring anyone. In my spare time I enjoy reading, getting involved with volunteer work and exploring my city.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child"s life?The best part would be the ability to help them, or care for them. I gain immense satisfaction from this and I am happy to be able to contribute in a valuable way to the child´s life.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Interactive play and educational activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Firstly it is important to make sure that the child is stable, if they are hurt or in danger. Should the situation require it, call for an ambulance or other emergency services. Then call the parents to alert them of the emergency.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have not yet experienced a difficult situation.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe that discipline is necessary, in order to create and maintain appropriate boundaries. However, I also believe in the right type of discipline, one which is positive, fair and beneficial.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a 2 year old having a tantrum?Firstly it is important to remain calm, and do not shout. Do not give into demands. Allow the child to finish their tantrum while remaining close by. Once the child has calmed down find out what caused their distress and deal appropriately with it from there.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Store any art materials out of reach when they are not in use. Explain to the child that all art work is done on paper and not on the walls etc Alternatively, if the parents approve, dedicate a section of the wall just for drawing. if this is not the case, create other creative outlets for the child to express their art, such as going outside and using the garden materials.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Once again stay calm. Set clear expectations around homework time and responsibilities. Be supportive and encouraging. Offer incentives. Keep a structured time and place for the homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?1 year old up to 15years
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?My name is Stephanie and I am 20 years old. For as long as I can remember I have always had an interest and love for children. Particularly the younger ones. This interest and love led me to become involved in my church as a youth and holiday club leader, where I got to develop my skills with children of all ages and personalities. This further led me to develop a keen interest and passion in becoming a special needs therapist and educator, which is what I am currently studying towards at University.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs (scrambled, friend or poached) on toast. Fruit juice
LunchChicken wrap. Water or juice
DinnerTuna pasta. Water
Snacknuts ad dried fruit/ Fresh fruit.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I come from a family of 5, myself, my older brother and sister and my parents. My dad is retried and my mom still works, she is a PA at an IT company. My brother has just stared his second degree in Accountancy and my sister is a spa manager. My sister has 2 daughters, aged 4 and 3. I spend as much time with them as I possible can as they are such lovely children.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.