Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Jade

Personal Details

Reference # 201-64858
Name Jade
Nationality South African
Age 23
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)VW Polo(2016)
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?24 February 2014

Education

Secondary Education
Bergvliet High School-2014
Tertiary Education
No
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2015. Au pair in San Francisco, USA 1 year contract ended.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls. Samantha Bartlow :15 months. Robin Bartlow: Newborn.
What were your duties?Feeding, bathing and generally caring for the children. I played fun educational games with them. I fetched them from day care. I was like a big sister to them. I put them to bed and read them stories every night.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am      

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?2015
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always had a passion for children and have always looked after baby cousins or family friends' children. I have worked as an au pair for a year in America in 2015.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love to cook and bake. I enjoy being social with friends and family. I enjoy doing hair and makeup. I love animals and outdoor activities. I read and watch movies.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love that I am able to make a difference and help shape the children that I am looking after. Children have this special energy and love within them that I love to bring out in them. I am able to be a child again playing and pretending.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing with them and their toys inside or outside. Teaching them new things. Constructive or educational play. I love drawing and painting. I love taking them to parks. I like watching movies or playing educational games and conversing with them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Remain calm and call for help if the situation is out of my control. Ensure that the child is okay and try to keep him/her calm.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it? I have not had any emergencies with the children I have looked after. I always keep them very close to me and watch them all the time.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe children should be heard and allowed to express how they feel or what they wanted to do in a polite manner. I feel children need to know the difference between expressing what they want and being rude. It´s important for children to have discipline and firm guardians to guide and help the child understand the reason for a decision.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Go down to eye level with the child and calmly explain to him/ her why having a tantrum doesn't help. Ask the child to stop crying. Give them two options and let them choose. By doing this you are still in control but you are giving them the choice.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Go down to eye level and calmly ask them to stop drawing on the wall. Explain that walls are not to be drawn on and that you only write on paper that was given to you. Ask them to help you clean off the mess and explain that the next time they draw on the wall there will be consequences.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Go down to eye level with the child and explain to them in a calm manner why they need to do homework and why it is important to do homework. Offer help or guidance. If they are still refusing state that there will be consequences if the homework is not completed. Give some form of reward once they have completed it, or verbal praise.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age. I love children and have experience from new born right up to 14 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still work now and again for family or friends. Often at family functions or events I help out with the kids.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am an extremely patient,loving,caring person who has a deep and natural love for children. I am shy and quiet at first but once I get to know you I open up and become quite bubbly. I am trustworthy, punctual and honest and I always try to do my best and give my all. I am soft hearted but will stand up for myself or anyone else if they are being hurt or bullied. I understand people and I am always there for you if you need someone to speak to. I enjoy being social and getting to know new people.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs, quiche, toast, cereals, pancakes, fruit, yoghurt etc.
LunchSandwich, nuggets, wraps, salami,cold meats, breads, pizza, veggies, etc.
DinnerPasta, chicken , meats, veggies, rice, lasagna, pie, roasts, Mac and cheese, etc.
SnackFruit, yoghurt, biltong, rice cakes, cheese, biscuits, water, dried fruit, raw veg, home made popsicles , prettzels etc.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am allergic to peanuts. But do not mind working with it if I have too.
 How do you handle a crying baby?Soothe the baby by picking her up and talk calmly to her.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Safety. See that they are probably cared for.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Educational toys, strolls in the park, communicate with them a lot, finger painting, show them how to play appropriately with toys.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?You go down to their eye level and ask them what is wrong and explain why their tantrum there is inappropriate.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?The child starts recognizing when she needs to go to the bathroom and I will then take her at regular intervals.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?It is very important to play out doors and mingle with other children because it helps them to learn about their world and to develop on any level.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Start reading books to them, taking them to educational places like museums and introduce them to art materials like colouring books.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Before you go out you tell them where you are going and how you expect them to behave. I give time outs and take privileges away if they do not listen.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Educational programs that helps them to develop like Dora Explorer and Mickey Mouse club house. An hour or even half an hour is more than enough. While I am there as au pair I will actively engage with them in activities.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes I love playing any games with the children.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes I like doing home work with the children. I always help my cousins with their home work and enjoy it.
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?Yes I like play dates because the children need to interact with other children of the same age.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes I will wait there so that I can be there on time when they finish with their activity.
What kind of outings would you organize for the children?I will take them to museums, parks and on play dates with other children. I will take them to the beach. I will take them to children's cafe's were they can make things, like pottery or their own pizza. I will take them to out door markets and introduce them to art museums where they can learn about art etc.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?Play board games, run and play games out side, take them on walks. I will encourage an interest in hobbies and other subjects that they are interested in
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?

Yes I love packing healthy and nourishing food.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes. I am always on time and when I have a structured daily routine I function better than planning things at the last minute.
  
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am one of 3 children. I belong to a very big family. We are very close and often have family get togethers. I probably have over 40 cousins! I enjoy and value family time and think it is very important.My father is a lecturer at Northlink college and my mother is the burser at the St. Anthony's primary school. She took an early retirement from a security company where she was an accountant. My brother works at a book store and my sister has a doctor's degree in Human Resources. She works at a freighting company in Cape Town.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.