Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Irene

Personal Details

Reference # 201-64741
Name Irene
Nationality Zimbabwe
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English (2nd), Xhosa (3rd) , Zulu (3rd), Shona (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Corolla, 2013
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2014

Education

Secondary Education
Harare Zimbabwe, Sekefour High-2006
Tertiary Education

Chilton Au pair course-2012 ,

Cape Peninsula private College-Cashiering -2008

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2011 - 2016 January. Kids grown up. Jay finishes work at 12 now and takes care of the children herself.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 boys and 1 girl. Liam 10 , Kate 6 and Ronan 3
What were your duties?Looking after them and babysitting. Gave them lunch and fetched them from school. Sometimes helped with homework. Jay finishes work at 12 now and takes care of the children herself.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSince 2010 until and still working for her.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?A 3 year old boy.
What were your duties?Babysitting
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2010
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love working with them. I have always been interested in working with kids.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I have applied to  study TESO to teach Engilsh and foreign languages and plan to do it this year.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?They are innocent and lovable. Children are my passion.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Puzzles, reading, playing soccer, music, playing games.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I will call  an ambulance and while waiting apply first aid. Then I will call the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Ronan at the age of 2  fell from the bed , I had to use ice blocks Where it was swollen on his forehead to bring the swelling down.
What is your approach to discipline?Patience.First calm down the child and then distract him with favourite toys. I explain the consequences of unruly behaviour.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Look for things he/she loves most and distract the child with that.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?You must explain why what he did was wrong.  I will give the child paper and draw with him.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Make jokes whilst doing homework. I will make the chld take a short break and make sure he understands the work and that there is not something else wrong, for instance that the work is not understood or that the child is tired or hungry.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Newborn to 10
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes Mrs. Jonker
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?2 boys aged 6 and 3.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I always calm myself down to solve my problems. Patient and humble and hardworking, I am friendly and have a good sense of humour. I love expressing myself in words about my emotions. I am open minded and love studying new things.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal
LunchBuddar bowl ( A mixture of vegetables and a protein) with egg
DinnerMaccaroni cheese
SnackYoghurt/Rusk
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
How do you handle a crying baby?I will check that all his basic needs are met. Maybe he is still hungry or have a wet nappy.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?I will keep a child safe and then tend to his basic needs.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Reading, singing and start doing basic puzzles, dance. Take walks to teach him about the outside world. Teach him colours.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?I will remove him to a safe place, like take him outside and let him calm down.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?I take him to the potty at regular interviews and remind the child that he must let me know when he wants to go to the bathroom.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?It is very important. Fresh air is beneficial and the child has to get used to interacting with other children. They also learn to share while playing with other children.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Puzzles that are age appropriate, learning to read and drawing, learning shapes and colours. Identify animals and sounds.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?I will express to them why I did not like what they did and the consequences. Take away privileges.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
They should only watch TV for a very short time. 30 minutes at most. I am there to entertain the children so they should not be watching TV.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes I love being actively involved with the children. I love playing soccer and other ball games.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes I love doing homework with them and patiently explaining concepts they do not understand.
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?Yes I do not mind other children under my supervision.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes.
What kind of outings would you organise for the children?I will take them to the zoo, aquarium, the jungle jim and the park.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?Play soccer, play music and encourage their hobbies. Playing active games like hide and seek. Playing cards and board games.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes I love packing healthy food.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes I am always earlier than the required time and can organize well.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.Happy, united friendly family. My husband works as a driver. My mom is a stay at home mom. I have 3 Brothers and two sisters. They support me a lot and I love being part of a large family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.