Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Andrew

Personal Details

Reference # 201-64702
Name Andrew
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Male
Marital Status Single
Languages English ( 1st), Afrikaans(3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2010 BMW X1
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2010

Education

Secondary Education
Bryanston High School - 2009
Tertiary Education

Varsity College-B com in financial management-2015

UNISA- Currently studying Honours (2017)

First aid TrainingYes, Expires December 2021

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingStill employed. looking for additional baby sitting.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3. boy of 6, girls of 12 and 16
What were your duties?Au Pair, dog sit, baby sit,house sit, and addition tasks e.g. take the kids away on vacation or out for some out door activities.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2015
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I worked with kids in sports and coaching, and informally looked after my nephew and niece´s. I have always got along with children and last year during my final year of studies, I became an au pair for extra income and have been an au pair since.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?2 years
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Surfing and swimming.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?It is fulfilling when you notice the children have learned good values that you set the example of.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Hikes, dog walks, swimming, surfing and any other sport. Indoors I like reading watching movies and playing lego with them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Follow my guidelines of first aid. I will assess the situation, remove any additional dangers, call or ask someone to call for help. See what knowledge I have to help there and then, be it maybe a splint or bandaging an open wound or CPR.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Children throwing a tantrum - wait for the situation to relax and then explain what I think is right or wrong about what happened, and also let them know that getting upset doesn't help, and there are better ways to handle it. 2nd to that, a 2 year old tripped and split open her lip, I dressed the wound and comforted her until she stopped crying and felt better.
What is your approach to discipline?Dialogue and discussion.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Let him/her blow off their steam, give them juice, water or food and see I can see what is wrong and get them what they want if necessary. (consult parents, Always)
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain to him/her it is not nice by asking them if they think its wrong and why, if they answer correct then ill ask them to not do it again, if done again, they can help me paint or wash the wall and speak to them to explain why its wrong. (consult parents, always)
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Explain why it is necessary (e.g. to learn ) to do it and tell them that the school requires it and tell them we don't want to have extra unnecessary consequences if it is not done.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?5-15
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still work for Ansa, my reference above.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am an out going person, love nature and am compassionate. I think of myself of a person who is optimistic relaxed and always wanting to improve and live life to the fullest.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOmelette
LunchQuinoa Salad
DinnerCurry
SnackSandwich
 Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
 Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes I currently do it in my afternoon au pair job.
 Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?Yes I believe in play dates and encourage it.
 Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes I am willing to stay there and wait for them.
  What kind of outings would you organise for the children?Anything from going to the park, beach, indoor climbing, indoor trampolining to the movies etc.
 What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?All sports. that is my strong point. Play bord games, lego etc. Bake with them and encourage their hobbies.
 Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes as an au pair I have to be.
 Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes I believe healthy living.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My parents are still happily together and my older brother is my hero, married with 4 children, yes I said four ;) they live in Pretoria. He is a sales manager at an aeronautical insurance company., I live in cape town, love the city what can I say.My parents have a small pharmaceutical logistics company. We are all very close and I visit them often. Celebrations are important.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.