Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Stephnie

Personal Details

Reference # 201-64687
Name Stephnie
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) and Afrikaans (1st); Xhosa (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2004 Polo Classic
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2009

Education

Secondary Education
Collegiate High School For Girls -2008
Tertiary Education

BEd (Intermediate Phase)

Majors:Science and Mathematics

BEd (Honours): Whole School Management

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2011 - December 2012. Accepted a full time teaching position. January 2016 - Present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2011 - 2 girls - Age 1 and 6 2016 - 2 girls - Age 5 and 10
What were your duties?Fetching them from school, helping them with their homework, taking them to their activities, playing and bathing them.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2014 - December 2015, 1 year contract, Visa expired.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children - girl - 9 years old - boy - 11 years old
What were your duties?Live in family in  Long Island - NYC, Getting them ready for school, taking and fetching them from school, taking them to their activities, helping them with their homework, playing, cooking dinner, laundry.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2013 - December 2013. 1 year contract.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 classes of 27-30 girls per class Grade 6 and 7 (Age 12-13)
What were your duties?(Collegiate  Primary School) Grade 7 Class Teacher and taught Grade 6 & 7 Natural Science and Grade 7 Geography, Technology and Economic Management Science
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2012 - December 2012 4th year student (Practical teaching)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?8 classes of about 25 learners per class Boys and girls Grade 4 - 7 (Age 10 -13)
What were your duties?I was a student teacher which means I would assist any teacher that needed help. I taught Grade 4 – 7 English, Afrikaans, Mathematics, Natural Sciences and Technology, Social Studies and Life Skills
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

PRETORIA
Pretoria East
Pretoria Central and West
Pretoria Centurion

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been involved in childcare professionally since 2010.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always wanted to work with children and decided to study to be a teacher after school. I am interested because I enjoy working one on one with a child or a few children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?1 years old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I spend time with family and friends and keep fit (run and play hockey).
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Each child is unique and I have the privilege of getting to know them and interacting with them on a daily basis to inspire them to do their best. I also have the opportunity to teach them, help them, and learn from them
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Helping them with their homework, teaching them life skills, and playing educational and constructive games with them
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would contact their parents and in extreme cases I would call 10111
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When they did not listen to what I had asked them to do. I explained what their consequence of not listening would be, and if they continued to not listen, I would have to follow through with it
What is your approach to discipline?I am firm and consistent, but at the same time approachable and nurturing to each child

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Remove them from the situation in order to distract them from the tantrum or offer them a toy or food in an attempt to try and get them to calm down and behave. Once their frustration is out, talk to them calmly and give them a hug to show them you love them
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Teach the child that drawing on a wall is not allowed and only paper should be used to draw on. Store the materials out of reach when they are not being used to eliminate them drawing on the wall unsupervised
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Explain the consequence of not listening to an adult, and not doing their homework will be if they continue with their behaviour. A privilege should be taken away if their behaviour continues. Also explain that they will get into trouble at school if their homework is not done and that would have serious consequences
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Age 1/2 to age 13/14
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, Belinda Wedderburn
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am friendly, approachable and a positive person. I am also very organised, and am dedicated and committed to any task at hand
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEgg and bacon, french toast, omelette, cereal
LunchToasted sandwich, rice cake, provita, smoothie
DinnerChicken, pork chops, chips, vegetables, pasta
SnackFruit, biscuits, nuts, biltong
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
What is your teaching style?
I like to use technology and get them to interact and work together, I use a variety of styles. 
Why do you tutor/teach/facilitate?I really have a passion for children, so I really want to work with them. Each child has different strengths and weaknesses, I draw on their strengths in order to boost their confidence and grow to reach their full potential.
Have you ever worked with/ taught children with disabilities? Can you give details on this experience?
Only ADHD children. I covered alot of this in classroom situations and at university where we were taught how to help them, bringing them to the front of the class for example to minimise distractions. 
 How can you help a child become an independent learner?Doing it in baby steps. So helping them intensely and then slowly allowing them to help themselves more and more.
 What subjects and grades can you teach?I can teach Gr. 4 to 7, in all core subjects. English, Afrikaans, maths, social studies, natural science and technology and EMS. I can also teach foundation phase.
 What specific strategies have you found to be most successful when you start to work with a child?I think getting to know the child first. Using simple questions to gain their trust, and getting to know them, what their needs are and to make them happier and more confident.
 What factors might interfere with achieving your tutoring goals for a child?If a child doesn't listen to you that this can make things difficult. It is important that the child has respect for the teacher as well as a lack thereof can also interfere in the learning process. 
 How, specifically, would you help a child deal with the problem he’s had with staying motivated [or whatever emotional or behavioral issues the child has had]?Small incentives, not rewards, again using baby steps. Keeping them motivated by setting reachable and attainable goals and praising them when they reach these goals. 
 How will you communicate with parents of children you are teaching or tutoring, and how often?   
With au pairing I normally message or whatsapp them. With teaching, I write letters, writing in their diary, or emailing them.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I live with my mom and dad and am the only child. My mom is a school secretary and my dad is the principal of a school. We have 1 dog, she is a Boerboel. We are a close knit family and enjoy spending time together

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.