Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Gwen

Personal Details

Reference # 201-64686
Name Gwen
Nationality South African
Age 23
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st) and Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Mazda Etude 1996
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2014

Education

Secondary Education
Table View High school
Tertiary Education
UCT - Bachelor of Science in Human Physiology and Anatomy and Biochemistry -2015-2017 (currently second year)
First aid Training Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingSince August 2012 - 2016. I still babysit her children.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children, 1 girl and 1 boy. Madison - girl - 3 years old (Newborn when I started) and James - boy - 1 and a half years (Worked with him from Newborn).
What were your duties?I had to prepare formula and dinner occasionally, bathing the children, putting them to bed, entertaining them - educational as well as recreational.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSince February 2013 – January 2014. School Commitments
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Variety
What were your duties?Running a party, helping children with obstacles course and ensuring children´s safety.
References comments about the candidate to be filled in by interviewer 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am        

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?December 2012 - 2016
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I was looking for a part-time job while at school and I really enjoy working with children. Watching them grow and develop is amazing!
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?A 6 months old baby.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am a virtual assistant, I swim as well as do ballet.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Watching a child develop and learn is amazing as well as the fun aspect of being around children as they play and learn.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I really enjoy making crafts, ball games, puzzles and role-playing.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?This depends on the type of emergency. If the child is hurt, I would apply my first aid skills, call an ambulance and call the parents. If there is trouble in the house, get myself and the children to safety and contact emergency services and the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?This was at a Clamber Club event. The child was in the ball pit and another child jumped onto his arm. I immediately got the child out of the ball park and saw that his arm was broken (very visible) and called to my co-worker to call the medics and the parents. The child was crying and I attempted to calm him down until his father arrived. He was then taken to the hospital.
What is your approach to discipline?I use the 3 times rule. I only say something 3 times and then I punish depending on what the parents have advised i.e time-out, take-away privileges or call parents. I also believe in explaining to a child why they got punished and making sure they understand.
How do you handle a crying baby?
I will pick the baby up, I will access when the nappy was last changed, check if the baby is hungry, and I will check if the baby has a wind and lift the baby up to get the wind out. If the baby is still crying and upset, I will just comfort the baby and give him/her love.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
Making sure the baby's needs are met, like making sure they are fed, making sure they are stimulated and entertained and making sure they stick to their routine that the parents follow.
Can you prepare meals for infants?
Yes. I can also prepare formula and making sure the temperature is right for the child.
Have you ever bathed an infant before?
I haven't bathed an infant by myself, but I have observed it before. I wouldn't feel uncomfortable bathing an infant.
Are you capable of looking after twins?
Yes.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?
It's a serious subject, but you have to handle it in a fun way with a reward system. I will encourage the child, so that he/she feels comfortable to come to me if they need to go to the toilet.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?
I think these are very important things to prepare them for bigger school and to socialize with friends or other children. They also learn and develop so much while they are playing outside instead of playing inside on a tablet.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?
I will build puzzles with them, learn shapes, color in and draw, I can read a book to them and talk about the pictures etc.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
An hour per day.
Are you willing to supervise friends of the children who are invited to their home while you are in charge?
Yes.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with the children’s homework?
Yes.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?
Yes.
What kind of outings would you organize for the children?
We can go to the aquarium, we can play putt-putt, we can go to the beach, we can go to the movies, we can go to a restaurant where they can play in the play area.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?
We can play outside (games, sport games), we can build puzzles, read books, activity books, make crafts etc.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?
Yes.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?
Yes, I have that type of personality, I like to plan everything and stick to daily routine. I am very organized, my books are color coded and everything has its place in my room.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I will wait for the child to stop(ignore the child) as they are often just looking for attention and once they are done, put in time-out or take a privilege away. I will always find the source of the tantrum first before I take any action.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will make them stop, explain to them that what they have done and then make the child clean the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will talk to them about why they need to do their homework, tell them that they can´t enjoy privileges until their homework is done. If they continue - time-out.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Newborn - 10 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, Madison and James. I still babysit fro them.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a friendly, organized and hard-working woman. I love swimming, ballet and a good book. I hope to be a doctor one day and I am working on my goals as well as enjoying student life. I love children and working with them comes naturally to me.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes.
BreakfastEggs, bacon and toast or cereal.
LunchHealthy Sandwich.
DinnerMacaroni and Cheese.
SnackDried Fruit, Crackers and Cheese.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Seafood.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I live with my mom (55) and dad (60), I also have an older sister (22) who is studying education. My mom is a nurse and my dad is retired previously working in IT. We are all very close and enjoy spending time having Sunday dinners and watching old series.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.