Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Tamsin

Personal Details

Reference # 201-64645
Name Tamsin
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2007 Toyota Runx
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2010

Education

Secondary EducationWynbergh Girls High School-2008
Tertiary Education

The Culinary Academy - Diploma in Culinary arts - 2010

Unisa - BA  Degree in Child psychology - 2013-2016

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2014- Current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two girls, 5 and 8 years old
What were your duties?Looking after the two girls in the afternoon. This includes picking them up from school and taking them to extra-curricular activities when needed, doing home work with them and getting them ready for the next day. I also babysit them when needed in the evenings.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingNov 2012- 31 Jan 2016. The boys are at school now. I still babysit them as needed.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two boys, 17 months and 3 years old.
What were your duties?I looked after them in the mornings. I changed their nappies, fed them, dressed them and kept them entertained with structured and free play. I had a fixed routine which included nap time.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingOct 2012- Dec 2013. I had to perform duties that was not included in my job contract.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One daughter, 11 years.
What were your duties?I picked the girl up from school, took her to extra-curricular activities and helped her with her home work. I also did ad hoc babysitting and ran errands when needed.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am          

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2011
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I always loved working with children and I was not interested in being a chef anymore and started au pairing as a way to get child care experience.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I do gym, hiking, I am quite outdoorsy. I enjoy baking and cooking and reading when I am not studying.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I enjoy watching them grow and learning new things and experiencing new things especially when they are young and still discovering things.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love messy play, puzzles, decorating cookies, arts and crafts, knocking blocks down, outdoor play and taking them to the park. I enjoy reading, singing and dancing with them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would apply basic first aid to stablise the situation, call an ambulance, take the child to the doctor and then notify the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The hardest thing I had to deal with was a very colicky baby and he had constant pain. I tried to make him as comfortable as possible and did a lot of bouncing and singing with him.
What is your approach to discipline?Time outs and confiscating toys especially if they throw it at each other. Older children get three strikes and then they lose pocket money. Positive reinforcement like a star chart.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I leave them until they are ready to join the activity. If it does not work I sit with them until they calm down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If it is a first time offense I will explain that you only draw on paper. If it is a repeat offense I will take the crayons away and give a time out.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try to explain to them why they need to do home work. If it is an everyday struggle I will speak to the parents and let them know and find a solution for it with them.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Newborn - 11 years old. I do not really like doing home work with teenagers.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes I still babysit for the Mc Donalds and still have an au pair job with the Willard family.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very friendly, outgoing, patient and like to try new things. I try to be fairly organized and punctual. I am a good listener.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes very well. I have a degree in culinary arts.
BreakfastFruit salad with yogurt, scrambled eggs with toast. A cereal or muesli.
LunchSnack platter with fruits and vegetables, cold meats and cheeses or Pasta.
DinnerSpaghetti bolognaise. Vegetables and a protein.
SnackFruit, crackers with a topping, nuts and raisins.
 Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?As long as I have a recipe I am willing to cook anything.
How do you handle a crying baby?I will see if any of the babie's basic needs need to be met. I will try to distract him by singing and reading with them and try to find out what causes the unhappy situation.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Make sure they are clean, well- fed and see that they are stimulated. Of course always  I will always check that they are safe.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Reading, gross motor skills, fine motor skills like threading. Let them have free play as well as stimulated play.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?Remove them from the situation. I will leave the actual public place for a "safe" place like home.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?With patience and not getting angry when there are accidents. Explain to the child that he must let you know when he wants to go to the bathroom. I also work on a reward system. Praise and a sticker or star chart works well.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?Outdoor play is important. It builds their muscles and helps to get the energy out. It builds their confidence being around other children and having out door experiences with them.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Definately doing bigger pieces of puzzles all the time. Doing reading with them. Teach them about animals and sounds. Teaching them about what is around them and other environments.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Letting them know where their boundaries are and reinforce it with consistency.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
Not a huge fan of TV watching but I think half an hour before bed is good. Mickey Mouse clubhouse is good to teach them about shapes etc.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes I love participating with children in all fun and educational and sporty activities.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?
Up until end of junior school. i do not feel I am equipped to do home worh with high school children.
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?Yes I think play dates are important.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes. I will be there all the time.
What kind of outings would you organize for the children?

Depending on their ages I will take them to Kirstenhof gardens, the Aquarium,  do beach activities with them. Feed  the squirrels and birds in the Company garden. When they are older take them to museums etc.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?Do board games, dressing up, imaginative activities, Hide and seek , Red Rover, baking activities, cycling or roller blading.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes I believe they should have healthy and balanced lunches.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes I do keep a diary and make lists and because I still study I have to organize my time.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I come from a big family I am the oldest of five children. And oldest of 4 grand children We love the outdoors. We go camping a lot and are always busy with each other. We are very close. My dad is an area manager for LUK cluches for the Western Cape and Namibia. My mom used to be a private banker for Standard bank but is currently a stay at home mom. My older sister works as an au pair and works at Surf emporium in Muizenbergh and the three youngest is still at school.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.