Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Victoria

Personal Details

Reference # 201-64573
Name Victoria
Nationality Nigerian
Age 47
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages Yoruba (1st) English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, last in 2015
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Corolla 2004
 Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
 Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2002

Education

Secondary Education Nigeria - O levels
Tertiary Education

Unisa- Certificate course in Community Development-2009

University of Pretoria - Certificate in Commuter-2007.

First aid TrainingYes Valid 2015-2018 LifeMed

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2006 to December 2009: Taking children to school for a period of four years. The children graduated from matric.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Three. Two females and a male. Age 12-17years
What were your duties?Taking them to school and picking them from school.In the morning I would take them to school. I would then take them home again. I would occasionally make them lunch, and supervise their homework as well. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingTaking care of a little princess from four months old in November 2012 until December 2015. Reason for leaving is the little girl started school this January 2016.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One daughter from four months old.
What were your duties?Caring for this little princess as if she was mine. I did everything from changing diapers and making bottles, feeding preparing meals, bathing, raising her, playing games, teaching her skills etc and babysitting.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

PRETORIA
Pretoria East
Pretoria Central and West
Pretoria Centurion

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started caring for children professionally in 2006.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Because of the flexibility and the love I have for children. I started caring for my older siblings and friend's children that is how I developed an interest in doing it to carter for my needs.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Four months old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Love reading, cooking and traveling. Watching movies as well.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?It gives me joy to be able to contribute positively in children's lives knowing that they are the future of our generation and being able to help them build their confidence to be a better citizens when they grow up.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing outdoor activities with them in whatever games of their choice.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In any emergency case, someone needs to be calm, check the injured person and assure them that you can help. When it is an incident you cannot handle call EMS and call the parent
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Fortunately, I have not been involved in an unfortunate situations but am sure whenever need be I can deal with it.
What is your approach to discipline?Discipline is of paramount importance to me, children are children but whenever there is a little need for correction we need to address the situation immediately. Call the attention of the parents if I cannot resolve it.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Try to calm the child by talking to him or her.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Firstly there should be a code of conduct in various homes to deal with issues. Talk to the child and request for cleaning the wall together with you so that he/ she knows that you are not allowed to write on the wall but rather write on your board or books provided.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Talk to the child about the importance of doing her/ his homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?There is no age limit in working with children. They are all manageable as long as they can listen to you.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, for Ms Bolanle. Occasionally the baby stays with me or I go and stay with her when the parents are having a night out.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, a daughter born in 2003, another daughter born in 2004 and a son born in 2010. 
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Lovable and passionate about whatever I am doing and open minded. Open to constructive criticism and above all these I am a daughter of the most high God.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereals or porridge.
LunchRice with veggies and stew
DinnerVienna with baked beans served with bread
SnackSnack bars, packer juice& packet chips or a fruit of choice
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Not at all as long as I can be shown how to prepare it
How do you handle a crying baby?
I would pick the baby up, check what is wrong, maybe they need a diaper change, or they are uncomfortable, I will soothe them and calm them.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Providing lots of care, to give them more attention.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
Touching games, giving them things to taste and touch and making exploring the world around them fun.
Explain the process of changing a diaper; are you comfortable with changing diapers?
Yes, no problem. I am very comfortable with this, having had 3 children myself.
Have you ever had to sterilise bottles before?Yes
Can you prepare meals for infants?
 Yes, I enjoy introducing children to new foods.
Have you ever bathed an infant before? Yes
Are you capable of looking after twins?
Yes, I have had to care of infants aged from new born  in a personal capacity, where the one child was 6 weeks older than the other.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?
You wait for the child to be ready for the training. They will start touching their diapers, or removing them completely when they want to use the toilet, this is when I feel they are ready to train and will train easily as they want to move forward to being trained.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old? What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
I wouldn't use my own discretion. It would depend on what the family wants. 
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?I would want to know what is expected from me. 
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have two lovely girls and a son.We are very close family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.