Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Shereen

Personal Details

Reference # 201-645
Name Shereen
Nationality South Africa
Age 42
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
Are you in good health?Yes
Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)White golf 2000
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedNo
How long have you been driving for?10 years

Education

Secondary Education

Cambridge College Grade 11

Tertiary EducationLevel 4 International Certificate - Early Child development & Grade 12.  BA in Eurythmy (Therapy through movement).
First aid TrainingNo
Other training

Life Line /  Child Line

Personal Growth Course

Counseling Skills Course

Care Givers Course

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJan - Dec 2007
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?(1 teen girl, teen boy and 9 year old girl)
What were your duties?Prepare meals, household chores, assisting with homework and hygiene.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving5 months ( 2006)
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?3-5 year olds
What were your duties?Worksheets and reading, potty training, games, general supervision.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2009 - August 2011. Part time only.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?11 year old boy.
What were your duties?Preparing of meals, assist with homework and projects. Arranging of outings and taking to extra murals and supervising him.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am          

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?It is definitely a calling for me! Children are pure and honest. I love that I can learn from them. They are our greatest teachers.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?4 months old ( Nephew )
What activities are you involved in?Reading, walking, outdoors and collecting books.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I write poetry.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I enjoy the conversations and the warmth that's freely given to you. Children have an amazing energy that keeps me energized.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Swimming, outdoors adventures, picnics and parks
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depends on what type of emergency.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I took the children and their dog for a walk. The dog ran away, overwhelmed I wanted to run after it and search for it, but I could not. I maintained myself and acted calm as I had to consider the 2 little girls with me. Together we walked and discussed where the dog could be. We walked for miles and met two ladies who assisted us. An hour later Rosco  was happily found.
What is your approach to discipline?Discuss, understand,apologize and let go.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would the child space that is needed and then assist to the best of my ability.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?For me this is normal behaviour as the child is exploring and discovers through touch. Though many parents are against this. I would talk to the child, make sure there is an understanding and make the cleaning process fun.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Talking and understanding is key. I will find a creative way to enthuse the child to do homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I'm comfortable with all ages however I have have a preference working with younger children.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a free spirit. striving to live a purposeful and joyous life. I am a nature freak and love the mountains.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastBreakfast Oats and honey or fruit cut up.
LunchLunch Sandwiches, muffins and fruit
DinnerMac and cheese, chops or chicken with veggies and rice.
SnackFruit and yoghurt, fruit pieces or dried fruit, biscuits and cheese
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Yes, I do not want to work with or cook pork, ham and gammon.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.Even though my parents are divorced, we are well grounded and on our own paths of amazing discoveries. As siblings we are very close. I have 2 brothers and 1 sister and I am the middle child. I come from a family who loves sport. We are fairly happy and very healthy.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.