Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Nyasha

Personal Details

Reference # 201-64415
Name Nyasha
Nationality Zimbabwean
Age 35
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages Shona (1st) and English (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Jeep Cherokee , 2007
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2015

Education

Secondary Education
Zimbabwe: Chibuwe high school: A levels:2002
Tertiary Education

University of Zimbabwe-Diploma in Education-2007.

University of Zimbabwe-Certificate in Family Health and Life Studies-2007.

Chilton au pair placement and training-Early childhood development-2012

Currently studying Montessori part time (2 year course)

First aid Training

Yes, Pediatric First Aid, valid until 26 August 2019. 

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingStill working with her
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?It depends on the family which will be requiring a babysitter.
What were your duties?Babysitting.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2009-2013. The family relocated.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 children, a new born baby and one 2 year and one 5 year old. Two boys and one girl.
What were your duties?I was responsible for bathing, changing and feeding the children, make nutritious meals and help with potty training and age play age appropriate games and activities with them.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am          

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2012
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?My mother was a teacher and I developed a passion for children which lead me to pursue the teaching industry. Now that I am here and couldn´t get a teaching post babysitting is the best option for me.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?New born
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I do sell Forever products and clothes . I also love traveling and outdoor activities.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I have to be a good role model because children imitate behaviour. I also like consistent routine and discipline.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love reading books with them; painting, making stuff like puppets and pictures . I also love gardening planting trees and flowers.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Do the first aid at the same time informing the parents and calling the necessary people be it ambulance or fire brigade it depends on the situation
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A child had a fever and a high temperature. I bathed him in cold water and kept him cool without any clothes whilst keeping on checking the temperature. I also informed the parents.
What is your approach to discipline?I Set clear instructions and am consistent in whatever routine we set together with parents. I am  firm and loving at the same time.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?It depends on what the parents want me to do but I can do time out for two minutes.I will get down to his level to have eye contact and tell the child that his behaviour is not acceptable
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Rather give him a paper and tell the child not to write on the wall but on paper.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will explain to the child the importance of doing their homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?New born up to 15years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I Still do some ad hoc babysitting with Shereen.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?I have a girl born in Feb 2009
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a very bubbly; very cheerful ; extremely patient and can follow instructions well. I respect someone's culture or religion and is non judgemental.  I am very s elf motivated.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOmelette; bacon toast
Lunch Butternut; couscous and veggies or meat
DinnerSpaggheti Bolognese
SnackRice cakes; fruit , veggies it all depends
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Sea food
How do you handle a crying baby?Check that the child's basic needs are met:I will  check if the child is hungry, ill or needs a nappy change. Pick the baby up and cuddle it to comfort it
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Check that the house is secure so that the child is safe. 
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?We can do painting, reading, play ball, play outside in the sand pit, we can play with puppets etc.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?Hold the child and get down to his level and tell him his behaviour is not acceptable and that we will go home if he does not behave.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?We will read a book that instruct the child how to potty train. Showing the child pictures of how potty training works. Kids should be in a routine and  I take them regularly to the bath room so that they get used to it.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?It helps them to communicate with other children and teaches them how to get along with other children and how to play games and they learn from other children's behaviour. I make cards with games that the children can choose to play outside.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Puzzles, cutting, making puppets and painting. We can read and sing together.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?The naughty corner or time out works for me. I will discuss what they did wrong with them and explain what will happen when they do it again.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
The families I have worked for do not allow TV, only on Fridays and then just one program. As an au pair I occupy children with other activities.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes I am willing to play them. I enjoy outdoor play very much. 
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes I am qualified to facilitate  children and adults.
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?Yes I am willing to supervise play dates.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes it is important to wait at the extra activities.
What kind of outings would you organise for the children?I will consult the parents. I love taking them to the aquarium, the science centre, the parks and other out door places they can play.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?We can play ball games, go to the park, We can read books, do puzzles and home work. Play hide and seek.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?As long as the parents tell me what they want their children to eat I have no problem with packing lunch boxes.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?I am always punctual and very organized.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am married with one child. I Stay with my husband in Claremont. I have been married for 7years. My husband is a partner in a construction company.  I have my sister here in Capetown and my brother lives in Gauteng and some of my husband's family is also here.We are a close family who regularly visit and have parties together. My mom and dad were both teachers in Zimbabwe.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.