Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Nadia

Personal Details

Reference # 201-64413
Name Nadia
Nationality South African
Age 24
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st) , English (2nd) , Dutch (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Polo TSI 2016
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2013

Education

Secondary EducationTygerberg High School
Tertiary Education
TEFL Course - Global USA Online - September 2016(will be completed; doing it part time)
First aid Training Yes, expiring January 2019.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary 2014 - December 2014; My visa contract expired.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 Children aged 1 year old (boy), 2,5 year old (girl), a 5 year old (boy).
What were your duties?I was on duty full day, care for the children (get them ready for school, take them and fetch them, prepare breakfast, lunch and dinner, entertain them, bath them and put them in bed), I had to cook, I had to clean the house and do laundry. I had to run errands.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch
Winelands (Paarl)
Franschoek

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?2010 - 2014 (4 years).
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love children and love working with them. I always feel calm around children and I love seeing them grow and develop. When I was in grade 9 (2010) I used to help out at UBUNTU house.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn babies.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I like to play golf, I like to spend time with my friends and my family.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love doing fun things with children, entertaining them and ultimately seeing them happy.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I like to entertain them outside, build puzzles, making crafts and doing what the child likes to do.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I will firstly see how the child is doing, then call the parents as well as the emergency unit (if it is necessary). I will use my first aid skills to help the child in the meantime.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The boy I au paired for in the Netherlands used to throw tantrums and would punch and kick me. All I could do is stay calm and send him to a corner where he needs to calm down and think about his actions and why it was wrong.
What is your approach to discipline?I feel that discipline needs to be established in every home and the parents needs to have a discipline method. I will always follow the parents discipline method/routine. I believe that time-out can be useful, but sometimes it doesn't have an impact on a child.
How do you handle a crying baby?
I will check his/her nappy, I will check if the baby is hungry, I will check for a fever and if the baby is teething. If the baby doesn't calm down after I have checked everything, I will just comfort the baby.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
To care for the needs and to make sure the child is safe at all times.
Can you prepare meals for infants?
Yes.
Have you ever bathed an infant before?
Yes.
Are you capable of looking after twins?
Yes.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?
It is very important for toddlers to play together, they learn how to communicate with each other, they learn to share and to work together in a group. Outdoor play is also very important for their gross motor skills development. Toddlers need to run around, ride on bikes, and explore outside.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?
I will build puzzles, make crafts, do messy play, build blocks etc.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
Maximum an hour per day.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?
Yes.
Are you willing to supervise friends of the children who are invited to their home while you are in charge?
Yes.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with the children’s homework?
Yes.
What kind of outings would you organize for the children?
I will take them to a petting farm, take them to an amusement park, take them to the aquarium, take them to the beach to play etc.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?
Yes.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?
Yes, I am very organized. I like things to be perfect and in order.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I will ignore the tantrum, wait for the child to calm down and then explain why his/her behavior is wrong.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will stop the child, explain why it is wrong and then let the child help clean the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will try to motivate the child by taking a break and then come back and finish the homework. I will encourage the child with doing something fun afterwards.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From babies - 9 year old children.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am friendly person, I am bubbly and love to tell stories. I care for people and love to see my friends and family happy. I am a positive person and live my life to the fullest.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes.
BreakfastEggs, bacon, cereal etc.
LunchFruit, sandwiches etc.
DinnerStews, roasts with vegetables etc.
SnackFruit, nuts, crackers, cheese etc.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My parents are divorced. My mother lives in De Tyger and she works as a broker. I have one sister, 5 years older than me. My sister lives in Plattekloof and she works as a PA for TDC. I live by myself. My mom and I are very close and spend a lot of time together. We love to shop and have coffee dates. We love having Sunday lunch together as a family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.