Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Nicky

Personal Details

Reference # 201-64406
Name Nicky
Nationality South Africa
Age 26
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st). Afrikaans ( 3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2011 Kia Picanto
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2013

Education

Secondary Education
St George´s Grammar School -2012
Tertiary Education
UCT-Certificate in Executive Support Event Management-2015.
First aid TrainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingThe whole of 2015. I got a full time job as a Personal assistant.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two boys, 8 and 11
What were your duties?Fetch from school, take to extra murals Feed, bath, supervise activities, baby sit. entertain, take on outings.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving3 months, (November-Jan 2016) probation time, decided would rather want to au pair.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?No children.
What were your duties?Managing a sales product. I followed the process from quotation to sale, overseeing and managing the process ad interacting with the client all the time. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?1
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Through an agency. I really enjoy helping children and seeing them grow. They teach us more than we realize.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?8
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Reading, hiking, seeing my friends.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Seeing and helping them grow.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Going to the park, or playing board games.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Stabilize, then call for help from the appropriate medical professionals.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When a child starts hysterically screaming for no apparent reason. I get a glass of milk, sit them down in a quiet place and ask them to explain what is wrong. Normally they have a million things going on in their mind and we can only see the external current situation.
What is your approach to discipline?Never use violence. A stern voice with an explanation to why what was done was wrong, and maybe a time out if necessary.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Let them cry it out, then sit with them, or give them a hug and ask them to tell me what happened.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Remove the crayon and explain why its wrong, replace with paper or a drawing book.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Normally they don't want to do homework because of the TV or Ipad. Once homework is done they can watch and play their games.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?10+
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, but I do still see them. I have been working as a PA for the last 3 months which left me no time to spare.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a hard working person with a big heart. I care about everyone and everything around me. I am a go getter and very organized and do well at multitasking.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes. I am a great cook.
BreakfastScrambled eggs with all kind of yummy extras
LunchToasted sandwiches, wraps or fruit and biltong
DinnerVegetables, a carb and a protein.
SnackBiltong or nuts or fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
 How do you handle a crying baby?I pick the baby up, rock it gently and soothingly and talk softly to him.Then I check that all his basic needs are met.
 What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?I will check that the child is safe at all times under my supervision.
 What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?They like to play with soft toys and toys that they can shake that make jingling sounds. I will start introducing blocks and other toys that are suitable for infants.
  Explain the process of changing a diaper; are you comfortable with changing diapers?Yes I am comfortable with changing a diaper. I will remove the dirty nappy, clean the baby's bottom and use the appropriate bum cream and then put on a clean nappy.
  Have you ever had to sterilise bottles before?No, but I know that you can sterilize bottles by boiling them.
  Can you prepare meals for infants?I am a great cook and know that you steam healthy veggies and meat and mash it up for babies to eat.
 Have you ever bathed an infant before?No, but I do know you have to cradle them in the nook of your arm to support their necks.
 How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?I will get down to their level and ask them what is wrong. Then i will remove them to a safe place like taking them home.
 How do you feel potty training should be approached?I have never potty trained a child before but am willing to learn the process.
 What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?

Outdoor play is very important at any age. My motto is trees over ipads. It is good for children to socialize and to make friends because it helps them developing social skills and life skills like learning to share.
 What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?I will build puzzles and play with building blocks with them. I will play games with them that introduces different textures and engage all the senses. We will paint a lot and play with play dough.
 What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?I do not believe in negative discipline. I believe one should divert their attention to something appropriate to do.
 What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
 How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?

Gummy bears, Power rangers, Sesame street, anything on Disney junior. Anything fun and educational and age appropriate.

I believe children should watch as little TV as possible. As an au pair it is my duty to entertain them.

 Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes very. i would like to help them. i did it in my previous au pair job and enjoyed it.
 Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?Yes I think children must socialize.
 Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes it is important to wait for the children in case of an emergency that I am right there.
 What kind of outings would you organise for the children?I will go to the park where the children can ride their scooters or we can play soccer or go to the put-put course. I love cave- golf, walks along the promenade and taking the dog for a walk. I can also take them ice skating.
 Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?I will pack healthy and nutritious lunches.
 Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?I am always on time. My personality is that of a very organized person. That is why I also love P/A jobs.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am the youngest of 5 children. I have two brothers, one is autistic and down syndrome and two sister whom are twins. I have a mom who is an English lecturer. I live with my mom and brothers and twin sisters and we are a very close and happy family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.