Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Mandi

Personal Details

Reference # 201-64358
Name Mandi
Nationality South African
Age 27
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st) and Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai Accent 2000 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2010

Education

Secondary EducationBrackenfell high school
Tertiary Education

International diploma in travel and tourism - Northlink - 2009-2011

American Culture and History - Borough of Manhattan Community College - 2015

Childhood Development and Education - Long Island University - 2015

First aid Training Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2010 -  December 2014.I went to the USA to further my studies and to au pair
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy 6months old till the age of almost 5 years.
What were your duties?Morning routine,make breakfast, pack lunches, drop him off at school. Pickup from school,make snacks and dinner,did the bath routine and get the boy ready for bed.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2015 - 2016. My contract ended.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 children, aged 2 years(boy), 5 years ( boy), 9 years (girl), 11 years (boy).
What were your duties?Morning routine,make breakfast, pack lunches, drop kids off at school. Pickup from school, snacks,doing homework, prepare dinner, bath routine and get kids ready for bed. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have? From 2010 - 2016.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have a love for children and love seeing them grow.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?A 6 month old baby.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love painting and I do kick boxing.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like to know that I play a role in their development, I love being a role model for them and to be able to teach them things about life.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love being outdoors with them and anything with art.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would try to to help the child by myself, but if it's a serious emergency, I will immediately contact the parents for help and also the ambulance if it's needed.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have been privileged to this day to never have been in such a situation.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in time-out and the time depends on the child's age. I will always ask the parents what discipline routine they want me to follow.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?

I will try to distract the child and see if it calms the child.

 How do you handle a crying baby?I will check if I have to change the nappy, check if the baby is hungry, I will check for a temperature of just comfort the baby.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?To nurture them, see that their needs are met and care for them.
Can you prepare meals for infants?Yes.
Have you ever bathed an infant before?Yes.
Are you capable of looking after twins?Yes.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?I will work with a reward system to motivate them. Always try to make it fun for them.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?I believe there should be a balance between outdoor and indoor play, because a child need to develop both fine and gross motor skills. Interaction between children are very important to promote life skills, to be able to share and take turns.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Arts and crafts, painting and messy play, building puzzles etc.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?45 minutes per day.
Are you willing to supervise friends of the children who are invited to their home while you are in charge?Yes.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with the children’s homework?Yes.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes.
What kind of outings would you organize for the children?We can go to the beach, aquarium, science center or go to a museum.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?We would do lots of activities outdoor, like playing sports, take them out on outings if the parents allow it.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes, I am always on time, I have high moral standards and believe in routine.
How would you handle:
 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will have to sit down and discuss why he/she did it and tell him/her to help me to clean it.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will use a reward chart to motivate the child and try to stick to a routine.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All age groups.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a bubbly, energetic person. I like to be busy, I like to explore new things and is always up for a challenge.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes.
BreakfastPancakes, bacon and eggs and cereal.
LunchA balanced meal like meat, vegetables and fruit.
DinnerMacaroni and cheese, stews, roast chicken.
SnackFruit, yogurt or drinking yogurt, sandwich etc.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?We are a close family and live close to each other. We do a lot of activities together and spend a lot of time together. My mom and dad is divorced. My mother is police woman and my father is restaurant manager. I am the only child.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.