Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Liezl

Personal Details

Reference # 201-64258
Name Liezl
Nationality South African
Age 39
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st) ,English (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?  No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Chevrolet Spark 2010 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1999

Education

Secondary Education
Outeniqua High School, George
Tertiary Education

Diploma in Early childhood development - George College - 2000

Massage Therapist diploma - Healing Hands International - 2007

First aid Training No, but I did complete a few courses, its not valid anymore. 

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started in July 2009 - January 2016. The kids went to aftercare at school, so they don't need my services anymore.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 children; Girl - 14 years Girl - 13 years Boy - 10 years
What were your duties?I was responsible to take care of them during the day,feed them, bath them and make sure they are happy. Played with them using educational toys and materials. When they got older I was responsible to collect them from school and take them to extra mural activities. I also assist them with their homework and helped them to prepare for exams. I was also responsible to take them to the doctor. Organize play dates. I also did shopping for the house and took animals to the vet.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSince 2005 -January 2007. I started with my massage diploma.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls, aged 1 and 3.
What were your duties?I had to feed them, bath them, play with them at home, preparing bottles, changing nappies and stimulating the baby. I also did shopping for the house.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 1999.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I loved playing with the little ones while I was growing up, I have a caring and loving personality to look after children. I am interested to au pair, because I love to help children and teach them what is wrong and right and to help them develop their personalities.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?A 3 month old baby.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love to read. I enjoy walking on the beach.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?The thing I like most about children is when they can't get something right the first time and then suddenly get it right; seeing their face light up and that big proud smile, is very rewarding for me. Being part of a child's life is very rewarding, you never know what to expect from them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I like to read to them, swim, color in, take them for a walk in the park. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?First of all you asses the emergency. If it is really bad you phone the ambulance and call the parents. Try to keep the child as calm as possible and try to help. If the emergency is not so serious for example, the child cut his finger you clean it and put a plaster on but only if the parents are comfortable with it.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The most difficult situation I dealt with was when the child ate some nuts by accident and her airway started to close. I gave her allergex syrup straight away, phone the mother and took the child to the doctor. Keeping her calm and relaxed all the time.
What is your approach to discipline?First you establish if it is only attention seeking or if the child is really naughty. I will ask once for a child to stop what he or she is doing. If they don´t want to listen I normally take something they like to play with away from them and giving it back after the child realized what he or she did was wrong. You never shout or yell at a child, you speak normally but in a firm voice to them.
How do you handle a crying baby?I will check if the baby is hungry, I will check the nappy and check the temperature of the baby, I will comfort the baby.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?To keep them safe, see that their needs are cared for.
Can you prepare meals for infants?Yes.
Have you ever bathed an infant before?Yes.
Are you capable of looking after twins?Yes.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?You show the child how it must be done, you get a potty training chair, and you make a routine of going to the toilet. You make it a special time in their lives, make it exciting for them.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?They learn and develop a lot and they learn so much from each other. They develop gross and fine motor skills as well as life skills.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Play with play dough, build puzzles, bead threading, building blocks , reading books etc.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?30 minutes to an hour per day, but it depends on the parents rules.
Are you willing to supervise friends of the children who are invited to their home while you are in chargeYes.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with the children’s homework?Yes.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?Drawing, playing with a ball, reading with them, playing outside like climbing and running around and with the older children I will do fun maths with them or any other fun work.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes, I am always on time, I am very organized and like to plan my day, I live by a routine and always clean up after myself.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Try to explain to them that what they are doing is wrong it is not how you handle the situation. If you said no then it must be no. Explain to them why you said no and that it can't happen again and if it happens again you will punish them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?First you ask the child to stop drawing on the wall. Explain to them that it is wrong to draw on a wall. And then ask them to clean the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will explain to them that they must do their homework and that it helps them to do better in school. You say to them that if they do their homework they can do something nice afterwards. Try to motivate them to do the homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with any age group.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes,Madeleine Smit.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a kind and caring person who always puts others feelings before mine. I am punctual and hardworking. I always go the extra mile. I am calm and friendly and I love animals.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes.
BreakfastCereal,fruit,milk/juice or water.
LunchTuna wrap,fruit and water.
DinnerChicken fillet with rice,steamed vegetables.
SnackSandwich,nuts,fruit and water.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I come from George in the Western Cape. My mom and dad still live in George. I have an older sister that works in Plettenbergbay and a younger sister that lives in Middelburg, Mpumalanga. My mom and dad are still working. My father is self employed, he owns FastWay Couriers and my mother works for Anton Le roux transport.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.