Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Debbie

Personal Details

Reference # 201-64247
Name Debbie
Nationality South African
Age 59
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st). Afrikaans ( 3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2010 VW Tiguan
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1999

Education

Secondary Education
GHS Pietermaritzburg  -1979
Tertiary Education

UNISA:HDE in teaching - 1984.

UNISA: English diploma

UNISA: Life Orientation diploma

UNISA: Psychology and Counselling degree-2013

First aid TrainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2013-2015. I am presently looking for an English teaching post that is one on one or fit for smaller groups.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Pre primary, Junior Primary , Intermediate and High school phases.
What were your duties?Teaching , Aftercare and sport.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving1996- 2014
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?The whole spectrum from pre-primary to grade 12. Boys and girls. Mostly 25 children per class.
What were your duties?Class room teacher
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part time Negotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been teaching since 1984.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always taught and I have 2 adult children of my own. I am between teaching posts and would like to earn some extra money. I am also looking to do something stimulating while looking for the right teaching post.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?My own babies. Professionally 3 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy attending dog training every weekend. My Lab and I do therapy work with PAT. I enjoy walking with my dogs. I enjoy working with children with Learning disabilities and I read a lot.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I enjoy the excitement and joy children experience when discovering and learning something new. I also enjoy making the life and environment of children safe and happy.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy playing games both indoor and outdoors. Reading. Drawing. Baking. Painting. Crafts.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would go to the nearest hospital or contact an ambulance. I would then contact the parents and I would remain with the child/children until the parents arrived. I would make sure I had the names of all the child´s health care providers and their phone numbers.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?My son climbed the fridge shelves to reach for the jam on the top shelf and the glass jar fell onto his nose and he needed stitches. I held a cloth on his nose and rushed him to the doctor. All ended well.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in consistency in always instilling manners and respect. I believe in being firm in a gently and nurturing way. I believe in explaining why "No" has been said.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would make sure the child is in a safe place while screaming and or throwing themselves down on the floor. I would calmly remain with the child until the tantrum is over and then once quiet I would reassess the situation and child and quietly explain why things can´t happen and the good way to resolve a situation if they find themselves in it again. I would not dwell on the actual tantrum but rather better and more positive ways of dealing with their frustrations.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain that we draw on paper or in coloring books and not on walls. I would then with the help of the 5 year old get a bucket of water and sponge and we would both clean the wall -but I would encourage the child to clean most of the drawing.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would establish what the child´s favorite activity is to do -excluding television  and playing computer games- then I would explain the importance of completing homework. I would also find out why the child was avoiding doing homework and then deal with the issue. If the child was just being difficult I would deny any requests for relaxation until homework was done and then the fun could begin after competing homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age as I have taught from preschool all the way through to matric.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I have been asked by Oakley House School if I would be interested in facilitating an austistic child during the school day. We are just waiting for the parents to work out their finances.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes I have 2. My son Jonathan is 26 and is working in investment portfolios in Cape Town and my daughter is 24 and she is teaching at Pinelands High School.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a happy and fun loving person. I am softly spoken and always try and look for the positive in every situation. I enjoy teaching and being with my dogs. I enjoy a close relationship with my children,siblings and friends. I am loyal and discreet in handing out personal information on family, friends and place of employment. I enjoy the interaction I have with older people when visiting the old age home while doing therapy work with my dog. I also enjoy attending church during the week and on Sundays. I enjoy taking my dogs for walks particularly to Keurboom Park and Cecilia's Forest.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastFresh fruit with yoghurt or poached egg on toast
LunchGreen chicken salad or savory pancakes. A fruit afterwards.
DinnerSpaghetti and mince or fish and baked chips and salad
SnackCheese on snack bread or provitas. Or a handful of mixed nuts and a fruit.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
  
 What is your teaching style?More facilitator than disciplinarian. sensory teaching. My teaching style is kinystheticly orientated.
 Why do you tutor/teach/facilitate?

Because I always enjoyed children and to see them grow and change and develop.
 Have you ever worked with/ taught children with disabilities? Can you give details on this experience?I have worked with children with ADHD, Asbergers syndrome and dislexia. I work with a little girl at the moment who has a spacial awareness problem.  To interact with these children is a very hands-on experience. You also have to do a lot of explaining because they take everything literal. Maths you have to teach with objects. For developing fine motor skills you use a lot of art, playing with play dough and other materials that develop hand- eye coordination like bead threading etc. to teach them skills and give them confidence.
 How can you help a child become an independent learner?Teach them skills and give them confidence.
 How long have you been tutoring?Since 1984.
 What are your qualifications, certifications or credentials that assist you to tutor?I have a teaching diploma and a diploma in psychology. I also did a Life Orientation course.   I have extensive hands-on experience teaching children.
 What subjects and grades can you teach?Pre- school, junior primary , intermediate and high school. English and life orientation for high school children. All other subjects for the primary schools.
 Have you worked before with kids or adults with learning or attention issues?Yes I have worked with children with ADHD, Hyper and Hypo- active children, Autistic children and children with Asberger's  syndrome. All these children have attention problems. The oldest I have worked with were in grade twelve.
  How will you get a sense of a child’s learning or attention needs?From experience I will pick it up straight away.It is evident in their reading, in the way a child approach a word and the level of number sense in maths.
 What specific strategies have you found to be most successful when you start to work with a child?I always try to be as calm as possible. I show genuine interest in what they enjoy and we have conversations about their interests and hobbies.
 Can you tell me a little bit about your teaching philosophy?To introduce concepts to children and let them discover things for themselves with guidance. I teach children to be independent thinkers. That is what makes them confident and independent.
 What kind of results can a parent expect to see, and what happens if my child doesn’t make progress?Firstly every child is different so every progress process should be seen as individual. I will suggest the parents have the child evaluated by an educational psychologist. I believe in teaching a child age- appropriately and at his level.
 What factors might interfere with achieving your tutoring goals for a child?If the parents have unrealistic expectations of a child. Every child reaches their goals in their own time.
 How, specifically, would you help a child deal with the problem he’s had with staying motivated *or whatever emotional or behavioral issues your child has had?

I reward them when they reach certain goals like completion of a certain amount of work.  It has to be a realistic reward that they chose and I will keep them to this.
 How will you communicate with parents of children you are teaching or tutoring, and how often?If there is a need to discuss a certain issue on a daily basis,I would do so. Otherwise weekly or as often as the parents indicate that they would like to discuss their child's performance and progress and other relevant issues.
 How will you work and communicate with a child’s teachers?Write messages down in the home work book so that the parent and teacher can all see what is communicated. Unless it is something confidential. In such a case I will phone the teacher.
 How do you measure progress?I think real progress is when I know a child can complete something on their own without any help because of their grasp and adequate knowledge of the subject.
  
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have 2 children who work and live in Cape Town. I have a younger brother who lives and works here as well. I have a sister who works in Pretoria and an older brother who works in Richards Bay, KZN. I have a whole host of nieces and nephews scattered around the countryside. I have 4 dogs which are all rescue dogs and have all fitted into the family very well. We are all originally from Durban and Pietermaritzburg in KZN. In our family we have lots of Teachers, attorneys and Investment managers. We are all very close.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.