Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Kiaan

Personal Details

Reference # 201-63960
Name Kiaan
Nationality South Africa
Age 25
Gender Male
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Honda Jazz 2011
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?Jan 2015

Education

secondary Education
Crawford College Pretoria (2011)
Tertiary Education
UCT-BCom in Computer Science and Finance.-2015
First aid Training?No

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI am still with the same family in the afternoons. I have been with them for one year
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Child(But I was part of a lift club which involved me driving 4 children everyday) 13 Years old Male
What were your duties?Transportation, Homework supervision and help and the occasional odd task like picking up dog food
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time
Negotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have one year (2015) professional child care experience. I do however have a big family with lots of children that I have cared for for years.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always been the oldest in a large family full of kids and always enjoyed spending time with them and I thought it would be a great way to make some extra money.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?My brother is currently 5, I have looked after him since he was born though. I was 17 at the time.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I greatly enjoy exercising and staying fit. I try keep moving whenever I have some free time. I love playing any sports with children and love being active with them.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I find it very fulfilling getting to know and bond with a child. I especially enjoy their excitement and enthusiasm about the little things.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I like anything physical, whether it´s a game of soccer, cricket, tennis, etc or just running around the garden. I also will never pass the opportunity to beat someone at a board game!
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on what the situation is I would act immediately and either call the child's parents first or the police/ambulance to immediately ensure the child is safe.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I actually didn´t have many hard situations last year but once one of the mothers in the lift club was pushing me to take another child and this would have overloaded my car. I was firm and told her I was not comfortable with that and that if need be I could do two lifts. She was pretty upset with me and kept asking but it wasn´t a big issue.
What is your approach to discipline?I don´t believe in a totalitarian approach, I like to be able to have an open relationship with kids as I find this works better.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?It depends what the tantrum is for, but I find it is often best to be present but to ignore their tantrum and show them that they are really only having a tantrum for themselves and that it does not work.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If they clearly knew this was wrong and did it anyway I would explain to them why this was bad again and discipline them in an effective form depending on the child, such a s a time out. I will provide them with other art materials as they clearly have an urge to express themselves creatively.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?This is similar to the 2 year old, having a tantrum. I would almost let them stop doing the work but make them aware that this will cause them trouble at school. This always worked with my little sisters!
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children from the age of 3 but preferably from the age of 5 and upwards. I am great with teen agers and are currently working with one.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes. In the afternoons.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No only lots of younger siblings and cousins.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a positive and outgoing person that likes to keep on the move and I am constantly looking for things to do.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes. I cook meals for the week for myself over the weekend so that I always have a healthy meal available. I believe eating healthy is very important and cooking meals in bulk assures that I am not tempted to get unhealthy take-away meals.
BreakfastOats, Eggs, Bacon and toast
LunchChicken and rice with a spicy sauce
DinnerSpaghetti Bolognaise
SnackPeanut Butter Sandwich
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No. I am used to cooking and cook very well.
How do you handle a crying baby?I have plenty of experience with babies. I have looked after my brother since birth. I will try to pacify the baby by rocking and soothing them and check that all his basic needs are met and that he is not ill. As you get to know a baby you learn to "read" them and the reason for them crying.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes I am very organized and consider being on time as far as children are concerned essential.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes, I am happy to prepare any kind of meals and lunches and snacks.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?Children love board games, colouring, and a variety of sporty activities.
What kind of outings would you organise for the children?I will take the children to play ball games in the park, fun outings to the beach, bowling, to educational places like museums, galleries and the aquarium.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes, I have plenty of experience taking my sisters to heaps of extra mural activities and waiting there for them.
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?Yes. I believe interaction withother children is important for children.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes I am currently helping the 13 year old I am looking after in the afternoon with his home work when it is needed. I am very comfortable supervising and helping with home work.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
? How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?

Anything that is on the channels that are appropriate for children, like programs on the Disney or CBB channels. I will take my discretion to see that what they watch is age appropriate.

I do not think children should watch too much TV, maybe just a program or two on alternate days. I love to rather do all kinds of sport and fun activities with children.

What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?I believe in giving children incentives to obey and in explaining that a privilege will be taken away if they do not listen.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Children like age appropriate board games and toys. They do not know the difference between playing and learning. They can be taught as they play.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?Children should play outside as much as possible. It is good for their development. Interaction with other toddlers is important.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?A child should not be rushed into potty training. They must be comfortable and see it almost as a game. Constantly ask them if they want to use the potty and make them aware of the need to go to the bathroom.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?I will pacify them and explain why it is inappropriate to have a tantrum and them remove them to a place where they feel safe and can calm down.
Have you ever bathed an infant before?Yes many times.
Can you prepare meals for infants?Yes. I know that babies eat mostly pureed, steamed food and that the containers for food should also be sterilized.
Have you ever had to sterilise bottles before?Yes I sometimes had to boil my baby brother's bottles.
Explain the process of changing a diaper; are you comfortable with changing diapers?I have experience with changing diapers, since I have been changing my brother's nappies when he was a baby. Check at suitable intervals that the nappy is dry. If it is wet, I will take of the old nappy, wipe the baby, put cream on the bottom and put on a new nappy.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?I will play with them on the floor with their toys and blocks. If they are learning to walk, I will hold their hands to aid with this. I will let them crawl and explore their world ( under close supervision of course).
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Safety comes first. Then see to it that the child is happy, content and well.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have 2 little sisters and a brother. The girls are 15 and 12, my brother is 5. I also have heaps of cousins, 2 of the boy cousins are very close to us and I used to see them all the time before I moved to Cape Town, they are 11 and 8.My parents are happily married and we are a big, close family. My mum is an English lecturer who is currently busy with her PhD and my dad is the Deputy CEO at HSRC.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.