Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Rachel

Personal Details

Reference # 201-63599
Name Rachel
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Golf 5, Comfortline
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education
Tridel (2008)
Tertiary Education
UKZN-Bachelors Degree of Social Sciences for Politics and Psychology-2013
First aid Training? Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving+- seven months au pairing and since then ad hock babysitting.(2014)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two boys, 12 and 14
What were your duties?To drive to school, extra activities, assist and babysit

 

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI relocated to Cape Town after finishing my studies.Jan 2012- Dec 2013
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two boys, 7 and 9
What were your duties?au pair and baby sitting.

 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been involved in childcare professionally since 2012.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I originally got involved in babysitting when I was a student, and again when I was an intern. I studied child psychology and it was something that interested me as well as a job which fitted into my schedule.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?4 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I have a full time day job in Marketing and Events for GNC, which I love. I also enjoy exercising and hikes as well as dinners and good company with friends.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?The difference you can make and how much love and joy a child has to give.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Baking, movies and art.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?First I would assess the emergency, if it was medical I would immediately follow the correct procedure of ascertaining vitals, followed by calling for help via parents or health services. Any other emergency would would also follow a very similar procedure.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?To be honest I have only dealt with well behaved lovely children. Once there was an incident when the younger brother lied about something the older brother had done, and it seemed to be a pattern. The older brother was always thought to be lying and one day he just got extremely upset and cried for the first and last time I had cared for him for. I informed the parents and separated the two boys while positively reinforcing both children.
What is your approach to discipline?Manners are a must. There is always going to be a need for discipline, but it is not my job to necessarily enforce that discipline, unless instructed so by parents and even then would be something I would discuss with the parents and hand over to them to deal with.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would not acknowledge the tantrum unless it was warranted, for example not a temper tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?A five year old should know not to draw on a wall, and should also have the basic understanding of right/wrong. I think a verbal reprimand and instructions to clean the wall would suffice.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Compromising. Offering incentives. Perhaps even offering a break and then refocus on homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?4 upwards
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Occasionally, also for Uli, Ad Hock.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?N/A
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Loyal, fun, ingenuity. I am a professional and really loves my marketing job.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastFull breakfast, fruit, pancakes, oats.
LunchBacon and Avocado salads, chicken salads, salads (I love healthy salads for lunch) or a fully packed sandwich / wrap
DinnerI avoid starch, normally very heath conscious. So meat with salads / veggies.
SnackFruit, nuts, biltong
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am very versatile
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My family all live in KZN, My parents are still happily married on a small holding full of animals. I have one older brother. My Dad has a trucking and mechanical company. My mom owns a horse riding and teaching school for disabled/troubled children. She teaches them arts, crafts and horse riding to enrich their lives. My brother is a diesel mechanic.We are all very close.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.