Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Joanna

Personal Details

Reference # 201-63589
Name Joanna
Nationality South Africa
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (3rd) Understand basic French, Italian, German

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2012 Hyundai i10
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Secondary Education
Rustenburg Girls High School-2006
Tertiary Education

UCT:Bachelor of Social Science in English and Social Anthropology Completed-2009.

UCT -PGCE in Intermediate Phase I am a special needs teacher. UCT:Post grad.-2012.

First aid Training?Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving 2013 (Student teacher) 2014- June 2015 - Teacher
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?16 per class aged 12-15 with a mental age of 2-7. Both male female.
What were your duties? Bel Porto caters for learners with mental and physical disabilities. My duties comprised of teaching numeracy, language, life orientation, art, movement and drama, along with after school seminars and general staff administration.

 

Reference 2:

Contact details (email, cellphone and landline if possible) 0217948644/0833904541
Period and reason for leavingJan 2009-2011
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 Children, aged 10, 12 and 5. Two older girls and one younger boy.
What were your duties?I was the au pair. I drove the children home from school and took them to their various extra mural activities. I supervised their homework and projects. I also did some household and administrative errands.

 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am          

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm            
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?12
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started babysitting for family friends, then I au paired and then I started teaching.(2003- up until2015)
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?2
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I gym, hike and spend time outside.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Helping them learn and discover new skills.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Cooking, playing, going on outings, playing outside.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I have completed a pediatric first aid course. I would assess the situation and see how to proceed first then either: personally act, call for help ( Medical).
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A sensory overload with an autistic child. I have the training to help with this situation and used the different methods to help calm the child down.
What is your approach to discipline?I am fair and use different techniques depending on the situation and age of the child.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Try to distract the child and help them relax and stop the tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Remove the crayon and show them where it is ok to draw. Possibly make a game out of washing off the area where they drew.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would sit with them and go through it step by step, giving praise for each section done and they would earn a reward for completing the tasks.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I am still involved with the school I left Bel Porto School in  June(2015) to start teaching at Hershley in July (2015)  and the learners asked me to come back and attend their end of year functions.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a warm bubbly person who loves working with children. I have been working with kids with special needs for three years and it is my passion.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
Breakfastscrambled eggs on toast / a healthy smoothie
Lunchsandwich/ salad/ pasta (depending on the age)
Dinnerchicken and vegetables
Snackan apple and cheese
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Lamb
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am incredibly close to my family and spend a lot of time with them. My cousins are a lot older than me so I also help out with their children from time to time.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.