Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Dana

Personal Details

Reference # 201-63366
Name Dana
Nationality South African
Age 54
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), French (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?  Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)I drive a Toyota Tazz 2005
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1983

Education

Secondary Education

Arts Educational Trust School -"O" levels-1982

Mander Portman and Woods - 1983 "A" levels (UK)

Tertiary Education
Helen O Grady Drama Academy - Teaching certificate - 2012
First aid Training

Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2012-present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Both genders, 2-18 years old
What were your duties?To teach a dynamic drama curriculum which develops confidence, self-esteem and communication and performance skills.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSince 2014- present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One daughter, 2 years old.
What were your duties?Making and administering of meals. Playtime e.g games, reading, painting,singing, dancing.Occasionally babysitting, bathing and putting to bed.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving2003-2008
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?one newborn daughter
What were your duties?I was a live-in au pair. My duties included feeding, bathing and putting to bed. My duties and time spent with Ruby increased as she got older.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since  2003
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I just love children and always wanted to work with them. I was my sister's support system, night and day nurse when her children were born.  did a lot of voluntary work for Shine as well where we dealt with learning difficulties.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I sell a seaweed snack, and I also do audio dubbing and voice- over work. I love reading, going to the gym and I love walking and love voluntary work for "new kids on the block". I love movies and series.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?For me its making an impact on a child's life. I connect with them on their level and also to see the difference I make. There is so much to learn from a child, their integrity and honesty. I live in the moment with them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Teaching drama, reading playing games, I love being active, singing and dancing, going to parks, communicating.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would deal with the situation as best as I can and then phone the emergency services.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?In my teaching I had misbehaving children and I drew definite boundaries. I calmly get their attention, put my hand on their shoulders and talk to them privately in a calm voice.
What is your approach to discipline?To have firm boundaries. I can be quite easily manipulated but if we all know the rules it is easy to maintain discipline. I like to keep children meaningfully occupied because most situations happen when children are bored.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would try and distract the child after making sure that all basic needs are met. if the child is crying because their mother leaves I would console them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain why it would not been allowed, make them clean it with them, and provide them with other art materials.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try and explain it to them more interesting or give them a little break.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?My  passion is toddlers(2-6) but I have extensive experience with all age groups.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes all of them.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very warm and caring and fun. I am a good listener and wear my heart on my sleeve. I can be the life of the party, I am inspirational and speak my mind.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastBoiled eggs, or scrambled. Porridge, toast, peanut butter, cereal and muesli.
LunchTuna pasta, fish fingers, peas, broccoli and other vegetables. Fruit and yoghurt.
DinnerProtein, carbs and vegetables.Spaghetti bolognaise, boiled fish with sweet potato chips or chicken burgers with vegetables.
SnackSnack vegetables with hummus, avo and cream cheese, dried fruit and nuts.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
How do you handle a crying baby?
Rock them and sing to them and check that all their basic needs are met. I am patient and will take time to calm them down.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?That they are safe and well fed and looked after appropriately.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Go on walks, play music, stimulate them with appropriate toys, hold them. I will do simple puzzles, read to them.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?Pick them up and take them away from other people. I would take them to the car or toilet to calm down.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?If they are at that stage ask them if they need the bathroom frequently.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?It is vital for health to play outside and I would encourage play with other toddlers. i would arrange play dates.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Building blocks, puzzles, colouring in for fine motor skills, card games, memory games, numbers and educational books, learning the alphabet.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Creating boundaries and your tone of voice should vary so that they know when you are not pleased with what they do. A firm grip on the shoulder to get their attention. 
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
Cbb's are educational. They should never let them watch any violence. I would say no more than half an hour at a time. Educational programs can benefit them.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes absolutely. I am used to be actively involved with children when teaching.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes up to 12 years I would be able to actively engage.
What kind of outings would you organise for the children?Go to places like the aquarium and put-put and play grounds and movies and out for an ice cream as a treat.I would take them to Ratanga and butterfly world, pantomimes and puppet shows.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?Board games, puzzles, I would let them read to them colour with them and play play dough and do all creative things with them. I will draw from my class room experience for games with children I am au pairing.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes I love a healthy life style.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes. As a teacher I have to be. Punctuality is vital.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My parents are both dead. My mother was a remedial teacher. My father was an entrepeneur. He began as a lawyer. Then he branched out. He owned an air line and a department store etc. I had a very close relationship with both my parents also because we immigrated together to the UK. My dad was very protective. We were a traditional close Jewish family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.