Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Augustine

Personal Details

Reference # 201-63335
Name Augustine
Nationality South African
Age 42
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages Afrikaans(1st), English(2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford ikon 2009 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2004

Education

Secondary education
Overberg High School
Tertiary Education

Health and Community Care of the Aged - Northlink College - 3 May - 21 June 2003

Training course on Facts and Figures, Human Sexuality, Early Childhood, Universal Precautions, Writing a Policy - Tygerberg College - 2003

Health Care Assistant and Spinal House Care LTB - St. Johns London - 2005

Baby and Child Care course - EDU CARE -  March 2012(2 week course)

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFrom 12 January 2016 - 12 February 2016.It was just a short term position.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 3 Children, 1 boy aged 5, 2 girls aged 6 and 8 years.
What were your duties?I had to pick the kids up from school, take them to extra-curricular activities, I had to make dinner and bath them.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFrom 2013 - 2014. I was pregnant so they retrenched me.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children. 1 Boy aged 2 years and 1 girl aged 5 years . Christopher and Zara.
What were your duties?Packing lunch boxes, taking them to school and pick them up from school and drive them to sport. Christopher was at home in the mornings. I entertained him during the morning and did educational activities.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 1999.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love working with kids and being around them.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn babies.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?

I am a runner and I love to play guitar. 

What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like to watch them grow up and achieve milestones. I always strive to be a role model for them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Crafts and art. Playing games and entertaining them. I like to do educational activities like messy play, painting, building blocks, activities that involve fine motor skills (finger painting, sticking objects, threading etc).
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I will try to handle the situation by myself and if I need help, I will phone emergency and then the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I haven't been in such a situation.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in time-out, the child's age will determine the time he/she sits in time-out. I will always follow the parents discipline method.
How do you handle a crying baby?I will check if the baby has winds and burp him/her, I will check for a dirty or wet nappy, I will check the baby's temperature for a fever and see if the baby is hungry. 
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?I will do educational activities like, building puzzles, make crafts and paint, learn parts of the body, learn different animals, read books and sing songs.
Have you ever had to sterilize bottles before?Yes.

Can you prepare meals for infants?

Yes.
Have you ever bathed an infant before?Yes a lot.
Are you capable of looking after twins?Yes.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?Interaction is very important to learn how to share toys, take turns, and learn other social skills like playing in group. Outdoor play is also very important to develop gross motor skills and muscles.
What indoor activities would you engage a child aged 2 to 3 years old?We can build a house, build a tent, we can paint, make crafts, we can thread beads, we can read books etc.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Maximum 60 minutes per day.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with the children’s homework?Yes.
Are you willing to supervise friends of the children who are invited to their home while you are in charge?
Yes.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?We can play games with cards, we can play sports outside, we can make lunch together to get the children involved. 
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes, I live by a strict routine and I believe there is a time for everything. I like thing to be organized.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I will first try to ignore the tantrum or try to distract the child. Once the child has calmed down, I will have a talk with the child and explain why this action is wrong and how he/she can handle it better. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will put the child in time-out for 5 minutes. I will explain why this action is wrong and let the child help me clean the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?

If the child is tired, we will take a break or the child can take a nap if it necessary. We an also play a game in break time. After that we can go on with the homework.

Which age groups are you comfortable working with?0-13 years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I help out occasionally at an office.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes born in 2015 & 2017
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a responsible person and I am serious about my work. I am a loving person, I am friendly and a role model for my family.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes.
BreakfastCereal, porridge, eggs, bacon and toast.
LunchSandwich, fish and mash, pasta.
DinnerCooked meals like roast chicken with vegetables etc.
SnackFruit, yogurt, crackers, raw vegetables etc.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?None that I can think of.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My mother is a housewife and live with my sister and my father passed away. Sister is a teacher and my brother is a builder. I live with my husband and son. My husband is a venue hoist at Century City. We are a close family and love spending time together. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.