Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Jeannique

Personal Details

Reference # 201-63287
Name Jeannique
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (2nd), Afrikaans (1st).

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?  Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Bantam
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2009

Education

Secondary Education
Rob Fererrira High School-2008
Tertiary Education
Unisa-BA Psychology- 2014- 2016
First aid Training?Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2013-2015. I resumed my full time studies.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Between ages 8-10. Classes of between 40-43.
What were your duties?Assistant teacher who became a teacher.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2015. I am relocating to Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Girls, 13 and 11
What were your duties?Tutor. I gave extra classes in English, Afrikaans an Life science.

 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am          

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

 Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?As an experienced teacher and tutor I have to be organized and punctual.
 Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes I am happy to prepare lunches for children.
 What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?I would do arts and crafts projects with them, bake with them and encourage them to do activities that interest them like hobbies and playing board games.
 What kind of outings would you organize for the children?I will take the children for walks and on outings to the parks and the beach. I would take them to age appropriate educational and fun places in and around the city.
  Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?I assume that taking children to extra activities is an integral part of an au pairs job and am happy to do so should it be needed.
 Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes very. I have teaching experience and are used to help children with their work. I have tutored extra classes for children who needed it as well and have the patience to help children.
  What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
? How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?

If the child is allowed to watch television I will let him watch educational age appropriate programmes like what is shown on the CBB"s channel. I do not think children should watch a lot of television while in an au pair's care and recommend a very short time period of watching. Mostly half an hour per day.

It is the au pair's duty to keep a child entertained in a fun and educational way.

 What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?I find that a few minutes of time out works. I believe in positive reinforcement like making a reward chart for good behaviour.
 What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Lots of colouring, painting with different materials, building blocks and playing with other age-appropriate toys. I will read stories and sing songs with him.
 What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?

It is very important for the development of the child to have interaction with his peers and necessary for his social development to engage with other children.

Outdoor play is essential every day for developing gross motor skills, muscles and for over all development of the toddler. 

 How do you feel potty training should be approached?I approach potty training with time and patience. I will take the toddler to the bathroom at regular intervals and teach him to let me know when he needs the bathroom. I will make it like a game and reward positive results. I will let the child spend time on the potty, perhaps even let him look through a book on potty training while he is on the toilet.
How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Altogether I have about 7 ( since 2009) years of child care experience. I have 5 years of child care experience with family members (cousins) and 2 years of professional child care experience.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting? My child care interest originally started years ago when I started looking after my cousins during holiday seasons. I realized that working with children was my passion and I really do not see my self doing anything else.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?1 years old. years ago
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time I like to stay active I run, mountain bike, swim, or play a game of golf, tennis or squash. I also enjoy doing cross word puzzles and reading a book every once in a while. A good movie is also fun and needed sometimes. Listening to music is also on this list.
  How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?I will get down to the child's level and calming expain to the child why it is inappropriate to act out and then take the child home to a place where he can calm down.
 What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?I will do activities that develop the baby's small and gross motor skills and play educational games with building blocks and other toys. i will let the baby play outside and in the sandpit and will roll a ball with him.
 What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?My primary responsibility is to see to the child's safety and then to take very good care of the baby.
 
How do you handle a crying baby?
I soothe the baby and comfort it. Then I check that the nappy is dry, that the baby is not too hot or cold, not in any physical discomfort like teething or suffering from any other illness. I will also make sure that all basic needs like being hungry or thirsty or tired are taken care of.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I guess what I like most about child care is that children always want to know more about the world and how it works. Children´s curiosity is what drives me. Being able to teach them something new. including values and interesting facts. Being looked up to and loved unconditionally and basically just being happy because they are happy.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?outdoor activities like running building something, painting, playing any type of sport with or without the proper rules. If raining maybe playing board games or building a puzzle. Art projects that are fun. Will even make chores more fun by making it into a game. (of course letting them win) reading stories etc. Basically I am always interested in finding new fun activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depends on the emergency and whether or not someone is injured. But the main thing is to stay calm and call for help (parents, police/security company or any other possible numbers) Make sure everyone is in a safe place and that they are also staying calm.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Babysitting a little boy who was very attached to his parents. When they left he of course started crying. I immediately took charge and managed to stop the crying by keeping him busy with some toys and an activity. Later he did start crying again this time I knew that toys were not going to work so I picked him up and took a walk outside with him and kept reassuring him that his parents were on the way. This continued for a while until he fell asleep.
What is your approach to discipline?Whichever way the parents request. However I prefer to give positive reinforcement. This to me can be a wall chart that the child can gain stickers or lose stickers on depending on their behavior. I also prefer to inform children on their mistakes and why it was wrong as that is the only way they will learn.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Well a two year old will not understand a wall chart with stickers so to deal with a two year old having a tantrum I would send them to their room where they will have a time out. Again I will discuss with them his/her behavior.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?By this time child should be able to comprehend a wall chart with a merit system. So I would take away stickers and also help the child clean up the mess.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?From my experience the best way to motivate a 8 year old to do his/her homework is either to motivate him/her through a reward if he/she completes his/her homework. What also works is making a game out of it. Thus making the homework more fun.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with working with 3 years old and older.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes currently I still work at the school in White river and some holidays I occupy my cousins. (did not add them as references)
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?More about me. Well I am a very loyal, honest, down to earth hard working person. Although I am more introverted I tend to open up a lot more to children and to people I am familiar with. I absolutely love to play games and be active. I have a lot of patients. I am also someone that love to learn new things. I can sit for hours just listening to a conversation and be so at ease. I am a very loving person with a good heart.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs, bacon, toast. or yogurt and fruit.
Lunchtoasted chicken mayo or cheese.
DinnerPasta any kind.
SnackPeanuts and raisins. or fruit or yogurt
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have a small family which consist of me, my mom Rolandie, my father (Leon) and my sister (Lee). We are a very loving family and even though my parents have been divorced for 13 years they are still very close and good friends. My sister is one year older than me and is currently working as an art auctioneer on cruise ships, so I do not see her as much but we are still very close. I am very close to my mother but not as much to my father. We are a loving family. My mother is in the beauty therapy industry and has her own IPL laser treatment business. My dad is a marketing manager.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.