Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Nicola Forbes

Personal Details

Reference # 201-63053
Name Nicola Forbes
Nationality South African
Age 42
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans(3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?  Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Jeep Grand Cherokee 2003
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault? No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1998

Education

Secondary EducationWyn berg Girls High School
Tertiary Education
Prime Training- (Nanny and au pairing course)-1997
First aid Training Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingThe parents want to spend more time with their children . The twin boys are going to school next year. Been working with them since 2012 and are still working with them until the end of the year (2015).
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two Girls - aged 3 and 5 ( now) Twin Boys- aged 1. Been working with them since 2012. 3 years. (2015)
What were your duties?Preparing bottles. Feeding. Preparing meals. Fetching from school. Tidying playroom. Setting up activities. Taking to extra murals. Running errands. Doing shopping. House sitting.

 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm            
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am            

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?18 years
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?My Mother had a Daycare center at home when I was younger. I grew up caring for children. I really enjoyed watching how they grew and learn new things . My passion for child care started from there.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn, I am currently working with twin boys who were born whilst I work for the family.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?I am organized and punctual and in my current job this is absolutely crucial because of the age differences of the children.
Are you happy to pre-pack lunches for children?Yes I also have recipes for special snacks and age- appropriate meals.In my current job I prepare all the meals.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?I love doing educational activities with younger children. Although I have worked with all ages I prefer not to do home work with school children.
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?Absolutely. I also love participating in their activities. In my current job I make a schedule, a "fun plan" for the older kids while the babies are sleeping.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?

I do not think children should watch much tv. Maybe just for a short while after dinner at night.My view is why bother with tv when you can have fun?

I switch off my cell phone at work because that takes concentration away from work.

What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?They must know definite boundaries and be taught what is right and wrong. You should explain to them why what they did was wrong.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?Outside play and interaction is important and should of course happen with close supervision.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?I will definitely do all kinds of stimulating and educational activities with the child like arts and crafts, box construction, take the child to the library and other educational age-appropriate outings.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?One has to approach the whole process with patience. You have to constantly ask the child if he wants to go to the bathroom. I will hand out a reward when he does his business in the potty or toilet.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?I will take the child home where he feels safe.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Very tactile activities, messy play, I will introduce the infant to the outdoors ( with sun block on). Educational toys like building blocks , other creative materials and infant- related things to do. I actually have a file with 365 age related activities to do with every age from one to ten.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?I will see to it that the baby is safe and secure at all times.
How do you handle a crying baby?Pick the baby up, hold and cuddle and sing to the baby to calm it down.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I socialize with friends and family. I belong to Dramatic Theatre Society. We produce plays for The Masque Theatre in Muizenberg. 4x4 ing.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?How they experience and learn things for the first time. Being around as they reach their milestones.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Educational games. Taking them to the library. Going on outings. Spending time outside.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?If the parents are not around I will immediately give them a call whilst addressing the situation and then call for medical assistance whilst applying first aid/ CPR.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I helped a child who was choking. I performed the Heimligh Manuver. The child was alright after that. I helped a child from drowning that was was not in my care. I was away on holiday and I saw the child and rushed her to safety. I proceeded to applying CPR and the child recovered .
What is your approach to discipline?My approach is to be fair / calm and consistent. But strict when needs be. I talk to them firmly so that they know they have overstepped their boundaries. Small children will be diverted and removed from the situation.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would find out the reason for the tantrum I would address the child in a calm manner as the child picks up in your body language if your are angry or irritated Take the child away from the situation and move to a calm place and wait for the child to relax. Then deal with the situation.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would approach the child and explain that writing on the wall should definitely not happen .Give the child some paper to be creative on or take him outside to paint. If the child continues to draw on the walls take away the crayons until he/ she is ready to behave.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would somehow turn the homework into being fun. Turn it into a game. Hoping to change the child's view of homework from being boring.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I prefer newborns and toddlers . I have worked with children from birth to the age of 16.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I do Babysit for my old clients when ever they need me.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No children yet.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Outgoing. Fun. Caring. Organized. Punctual.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs, fruit and muesli / cereal
LunchSandwich , fruit and water
DinnerFish/ meat with vegetables
SnackFruit, nuts , crackers
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Sea food
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My Mother still looks after children My Father is a Tour guide and so is my older Brother. So we have the same occupations as our parents.Average family life.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.