Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Sarudzai Sarah

Personal Details

Reference # 201-63003
Name Sarudzai Sarah
Nationality Zimbabwean
Age 45
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (2nd), Shona (1st), Ndebele(3rd), Xhosa(2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Renault megane 1998  model but I am upgrading soon
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2014

Education

Secondary Education
Zimbabwe
Tertiary Education

Diploma in Education-In Zimbabwe, Mkoba Teacher's college-2001.

Chilton au pair and first aid course 2015. 

First aid Training? Yes, valid until December 2020.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFrom 2009 to 2012. The family moved to Johannesburg.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 child and I started when the mother was 5 months pregnant.
What were your duties?I was the families nanny for 3 years. All duties pertaining to the care of the children from birth upwards. 

 

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2012 to date. Want to start au paring since I now have a drivers license and my own car and Chilton au pair course qualifications.2015 in March.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children. The Boy was 2 years old when I started and girl wasn´t born yet. Thus experience working with new borns.
What were your duties?I was the families nanny. I cared for both children fulltime. The girl from birth and the son from age 2. I was responsible for everything from bathing and changing diapers, to stimulation and feeding.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?I find the naughty corner for a short time works best. i will also work together with the parents to work out what limit setting works best for their children.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?As a child carer it is crucial to be punctual and organize and I manage children with a set routine which aids in being on time and organized.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?I love helping children with home work. Since I have previously been a teacher I know how to explain home work and have the patience needed to help with projects, studying etc.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes I love playing outside with balls, swinging, riding bikes etc.I love participating in activities with children.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
I prefer to do fun educational activities with the children. TV time should just be for short breaks. I will let them watch age-appropriate cartoons.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?I will build puzzles suited to their age with them. Colour-in, learn some cutting skills, shapes, fine motor skills like threading. I love story time to read to and teach them to read.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?It is important for toddlers to have play dates because it helps them develop and teaches them social skills. They also get motivated by one another to reach specific developmental mile stones. I especially like taking children out to the park.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?I am currently potty training the little toddler at work. I ask her at regular intervals if she wants to go to the toilet or use the potty. I also take her at specific times because sometimes they say no when they actually mean yes.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?I will remove the child to an environment where the child can calm down.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Activities that promote gross and fine motor skills with age-appropriate toys.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?To keep the infant safe and cared for.
 
How do you handle a crying baby?
I believe infants and children should have a definite routine. Therefore I will know if the baby cry which of his basic needs to attend to, depending where in the day we are with the baby's routine. If it has all its basic needs met, I will just cuddle him to calm him down.
How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Including teaching in  Zimbabwe, 15 years childcare experience.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Teaching was my passion. I always want to work with kids and now preferably as an au pair.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Premature New born.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Going to church and participating in church activities. I like watching soccer. I love reading.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I want to see them grow and develop at each stage and play an active role in them becoming well adapted human beings.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I like to do fine motor activities, story time, music and out- door activities like playing ball games, swinging, riding bikes. I like being actively involved in sporting activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I will practice first aid skills, then call for professional medical help and then let the parents know about the emergency.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?In Bergvliet when i was babysitting the child had an epileptic fit, I had her lie flat and saw that she did not swallow her tongue. The parents were close and I called them. She was fine when they came back.
What is your approach to discipline?Communicate with the child and explain why his actions are wrong. In extreme cases I will put them in the naughty corner for a little bit.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Leave the child to calm down. Then ask what is wrong and amend the situation.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?

I will tell the child you are not allowed to draw on the walls and give alternative drawing materials.

 

An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Communicate on the child's level. give the child break and then continue.There are a reason why they are unwilling to do homework and I will try and find out why.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?New born to five years.I love seeing this age group grow up and develop.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes I still work for Pamela.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they? yes: 1992, 1995, 2005
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I have a good sense of humour, I am confident, quiet but not shy. I am also soft-spoken.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack) 
BreakfastCereal and milk.
LunchEgg and noodles, hot dogs, sandwiches, toast.
DinnerSpaghetti bolognaise, roast chicken, curries.
SnackDried fruit, fruit.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I do not really like cooking strong curries.I have a Certificate in food nutrition and are comfortable cooking anything from recipes.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are a really close family. I stay with my two youngest daughters and my sister. Most of my family live in Zimbabwe.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.