Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Tara

Personal Details

Reference # 201-62999
Name Tara
Nationality South African
Age 24
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans( 2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Opel Corsa 1.4 2008 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2013

Education

Secondary Education
Curro Durbanville - 2013
Tertiary Education

UNISA-  Bachelor of Commerce in Business Management - 2016

EDU CARE - Au Pair course -  March 2015

First aid Training Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2013 - November 2014 The family moved overseas (to England) in November 2014.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl. I was there from the time she was a newborn baby until she was 11 months old.
What were your duties?General daily care from 8:00 to 17:00. Feeding, bathing, changing nappies, preparing bottles, educationally stimulating, taking on outings, etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?2 years.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?My mother´s work colleague needed an au pair to help care for her newborn baby as the family was in the process of preparing to move overseas. I looked after the baby for 11 months. I enjoy looking after children and teaching them. I believe I have a natural, gentle way with children. I am caring and i have a protective nature. I am patient with children and children tend to come to me as well.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am a model for 20 model management. I enjoy cooking and trying new recipes. I like traveling to new places and spending time with family and friends. I help a lot with my family, looking after my grandfather.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I enjoy watching them learn the things that I teach them and seeing them develop. This is very rewarding. I enjoy being around children, they always brighten up your day and make you feel better.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Puzzles, bead work, outdoor activities such as swimming and obstacle courses, arts and crafts, dancing and dressing up. All educational activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?It depends on the type of emergency, but I would stay calm and call emergency services immediately. I would do CPR until help arrives, or if I can move the child I would take them to hospital myself. The parents would of course also be notified. I will always get help.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The baby I looked after had sleeping difficulties so I had to do sleep training. This was very tough in the beginning. I did research on sleep training and applied it, it worked wonders in the end. I looked after a girl who was very rude and bad mouth people, so I ignored her and when she calmed down, I would ask her to apologize.
What is your approach to discipline?Discipline is something you do for a child, not to a child. It is used to teach children to be able to achieve self-discipline and make the best choices. I believe in positive reinforcement instead of punishment. I also believe in time-out, when time-out time is done, I will talk to the child and explain why his/her behaviour was wrong and explain that they have to apologize.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?

Ignore it until they have calmed down, then once they are calm, explain in a gentle manner why they could not have what they wanted. I will also try to take them away from the situation that's causing the tantrum.

How do you handle a crying baby?I will try to find out what the problem is, check the nappy, give a bottle if he/she is hungry and see if I can get the baby to sleep if he/she might be tired. If that does not work, I will see if the baby might be sick or has a fever.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?To make sure they are safe at all times and cared for and fed.
Can you prepare meals for infants?Yes I can.
Have you ever bathed an infant before?Yes.
Are you capable of looking after twins?Yes.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?I always try to make it fun, put toys by the toilet. I will always encourage the child to go to the potty in a play full manner.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?I think its good for children to run around and being in the sun when its summer. Outdoor play is also good for children gross motor skills. Interaction between toddlers are very important because children need to learn how to share and develop social skills.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Painting, beading, building puzzles, build obstacle course outside to move their bodies.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?30 minutes a day.
Are you willing to supervise friends of the children who are invited to their home while you are in charge?Yes.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with the children’s homework?Yes.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes.
What kind of outings would you organize for the children?Going to the movies, take them to places with animals like bird world and the aquarium, games area in the mall.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?Building puzzles, dancing, building obstacle course, watch movies, organize play dates and play games.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes, I have always been organized since school, I am on time, I like my things being together, I like to make lists and to write things down.
How would you handle:
 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain to the child why it was wrong and get them to help me clean it up in order to teach them to be responsible for their actions. If they do it again, I will take their crayons away.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try to find out the reason why he does not want to do it, then try to make it fun for him. I will also encourage the child with a reward for after his/her homework is finished. We can also take break for 15 minutes if the child is tired.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All age groups.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am fun and energetic. I am patient and extremely organized. I love being outdoors and spending time in nature. I am sporty and enjoy hiking and running. I would say I am well spoken and confident.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes.
BreakfastCereal or eggs and toast and french toast.
LunchTuna sandwich, macaroni and cheese, egg dishes, chicken dishes etc.
DinnerChicken, rice and veggies or pasta.
SnackFruit and yogurt and nuts.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My parents are divorced and have both remarried. They are both happy in their current marriages. I live with my mom and step father. I have one sister who is married. My mother is at home at he moment and my father works for the City of Cape Town, he is a senior technician. We are a very close family and always make time for each other.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.