Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Kayla

Personal Details

Reference # 201-62818
Name Kayla
Nationality South African
Age 24
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Polo Vivo 2012 Year Model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2014

Education

Secondary Education
Rhenish Girls´ High School -2013
Tertiary Education
UNISA -Currently in my 2nd year at studying towards a B.Ed (foundation phase) (2017)
First aid TrainingYes, Expired 2016

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI have been assisting since 2010
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? I look after children ranging from 5-10 years old. Recently I started assisting with the younger children. There are usually up to 20 kids and 4 to 10 leaders.
What were your duties?I do praise and worship with the kids and we also do crafts. I get in at about 7am. I do worship, vocal warm up, we have a team meeting, We welcome the parents, and the kids. I then do worship with the 3 to 5 years old, then the 1 to 3 year old, I do word with them, and then we do activities colour in. This is then repeated for the next 2 services. These are around 1 1/2 hours each.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingMid feb 2014 - Mid May 2014. I was just helping out and I was volunteering at church full time so it got a bit too much for me.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, a girl age 9 and a boy age 14 years old
What were your duties?I fetched them from school, took them home, made them lunch, we did netball on occasion. I would also assist with homework before their mom got home. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am        

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am        

Availability Questions

Full time Negotiable
Part time Negotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have volunteered at Church, working with kids for about 2010. I also volunteered full day in 2014 every Friday and Sunday.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love looking after children, it is a passion of mine. I love getting to encourage them and build them up. I am very energetic and talkative and love teaching and caring for children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?1 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I serve at Church at the Youth programmes on Friday nights. I love singing, I serve on the Kids worship team at Church. I love jogging.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love being able to encourage kids and to help them realize their potential. I personally just like caring and looking after kids.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing sports or games outside, baking cupcakes and doing fun crafts.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would see if I can manage or solve the problem. If not I would call an ambulance and let the parents know immediately.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Children crying because they want their parents. I just distracted the child until she was calm and then we drew pictures.
What is your approach to discipline?I would find out from the parents what their house rules are and if the child doesn't want to listen I would either call the parent or take away one of their privileges, like no packet of sweets that day.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would try and distract their attention, or find something else they are interested in other than the thing they are throwing a tantrum about.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would take the crayon away and explain to them that they are not allowed to draw on the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would encourage them to do it, so that when they are done, they can do do something fun that they want to do, like go to the park.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with all age groups under the age of 16
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still volunteer at Church.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a very energetic and talkative person. I am punctual. I am hardworking. I like meeting new people and trying new things. I love going to Church and serving in the kids ministry on a Sunday.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOats, flapjacks, egg
Lunch2 minute noodles, tuna salad
DinnerSpaghetti bolognaise
Snackapple, fruit salad
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
How do you handle a crying baby?
I would try to provide a distraction.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
I enjoy teaching them and seeing them learn.
Explain the process of changing a diaper; are you comfortable with changing diapers?
Yes, I have had to change diapers for my younger brothers before.
Have you ever had to sterilise bottles before?
Yes, I have had to use the microwave steriliser before.
Can you prepare meals for infants?
Yes, if there was a blender.
Have you ever bathed an infant before?
No
Are you capable of looking after twins?
I would do it, I think it would be challenging at first.
Have you ever had to care for more than 1 child at a time under the age of 2?
Yes, at church, however it isn't just me present, the average ration of leader to children is 2 to 4 children per leader.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?I would try to distract them.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?
I have never done.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?
I think it is important that kids get outside and do not sit inside all day, I also feel it is important that they interact with other kids. 
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
I have never had to do that before.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
They can but probably only an hour a day.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in a clients home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?
I am fine with it.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with children’s homework?
I am comfortable with assisting children with homework.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?
Yes
What kind of outings would you organise for the children?Going to the aquarium, beach, museum, making playdates with their friends, ice skating, go to the movies,
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?
Yes
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I live with my dad, sister and my brother. We are all very energetic. My sister is in University and my brother is in grade 4. My dad has his own business. We are a very close knit family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.