Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Nicole

Personal Details

Reference # 201-62727
Name Nicole
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English(1st), Afrikaans (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?  No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Polo TSI 2014
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2010

Education

Secondary Education
Premier College - 2009
Tertiary Education

Montessori 3-6 Diploma -2011

Learner facilitation course -Head start Montessori -2012

Certificate in early childhood development - Educare- 2010

Child psychology Diploma (presently studying through On line academy- since 2014).

First aid Training? No

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving1 year (2013) I moved to Johannesburg.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 girls aged 3,4,5
What were your duties?I  facilitated the special needs girl at school, and was the au pair to all three the children from 1pm until 5pm. I took them to play dates and on  outings. I did  stimulating activities with them and was responsible for lunch, snacks and bath time.

 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
I do not approve of children watching TV. I will rather entertain them with more stimulating and active activities.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?I like non - aggressive discipline where the child gets a chance to calm down and think about his actions on the breathing chair. The Peace table where we can sit down and communicate about how to deal with conflict, is also very beneficial.
What indoor activities would you engage a child aged 2 to 3 years old?I like doing art and crafts with children and to develop their cutting skills which is good for the development of their fine motor skills.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?Outdoor play is important for children to develop gross motor skills especially. Children should interact with their peers as it develops social skills.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?Potty training is a slow process and needs a lot of patience. Take the child to the potty/ toilet at regular intervals and always be aware when he might be needing the toilet.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?I will take the child out of the public environment to calm down.
Are you capable of looking after twins?
I have handled up to 20 children on my own in the class situation so I think I will be able to manage twins.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?I would do activities that stimulate the senses like finger painting and do educational activities with age appropriate toys.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?The child needs to be kept safe at all times.
How do you handle a crying baby?I will pick the baby up and nurture the baby with cuddling and holding and see if something is bothering the baby.
How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?5 years experience
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I  helped out at my mother's nursery school.I just love children and that sparked my interest in studying teaching. I am interested in au pairing as I enjoy and love caring for children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 months old child in my own family. The youngest child I have cared for in an au pair position was 3 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Fitness training, hiking,scrap booking and surf. I like doing interior decorating.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Sharing experiences and discovering the world together. Building relationships with them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Creative art activities and reading and a variety of outdoor activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the emergency. Always stay calm, resolve the issue quickly, call for assistance, assess the injury, call medical personnel and then notify the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have not encountered a difficult situation while caring for a child.
What is your approach to discipline?I create alternatives depending on the situation. Children has to learn to communicate their feelings and accept responsibilities for their actions.  I would also follow through with the parents' approach on discipline.The breathing chair seems to work for me: two minutes to sit and calm down.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Stay calm and let the child calm down and then talk about it.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Help the child clean the wall, and give the child paper to draw on. Explain that we have paper and not the walls to draw on.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Use a reward chart, after a certain amount of stars/stickers, he/she gets a treat/reward.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age group but I prefer working with 3-6 year old children.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a passionate, loving, fun and a hard working person who loves making a difference in a child's life.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastBacon and eggs/ porridge
LunchStir fries, sandwiches, salads
DinnerSpaghetti bolognaise, chicken and veg, mince curry, butter chicken, fish cakes
SnackYoghurt and fruit, toasties
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Stews
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I moved back from Johannesburg because I missed my very close knitted family too much. My family consists of my mom, who works for a media company, my father, a lawyer and half/step sisters and brothers- we are 8 children but have very close ties. I am the second youngest. We are a Christian family, originally from Cape Town. Eldest sibling lives in New Zealand.My father is Muslim by choice.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.