Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Jessica

Personal Details

Reference # 201-62604
Name Jessica
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English ( First language level), Afrikaans ( Second language level)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?  No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai i20 2013
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2009

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend highschoolHerschel Girls Senior School (2008)
What was your passrate for Matric70%
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?   South African College of Applied Psychology: 2015: busy with  Bachelors in Psychology.  Cape Town college: 2009: Diploma in Photography: 2014: Special FX makeup course.
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving My Visa expired. Worked for them from February 2011- August 2011.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? Girl, 7 and boy 10
What were your duties? I picked up the children from school and ran errands for the family, like doing the shopping. Jake was my prime responsibility. They were like my family and as I lived with them at the time I was like part of the family.

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving I was a fill-in, temporary au pair during the period that their nanny took leave. Jan- March 2015.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 3 month old baby girl, 3 year old boy and a 6 year old girl.
What were your duties? I had full responsibility of the children while the parents were at work.The baby was my prime responsibility in the mornings. I would pick Jason up at 12;30, gave him lunch and see that he went down for a nap. I picked Katja up at two. I did age appropriate afternoon activities with them. I did the shopping for the family and cooked dinner every night. 

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving I am still working for the family in the afternoons. I have worked there from April 2015.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 12, 14 and 16. Two girls and the boy is 14.
What were your duties? I get there at 12 and then do house hold chores and P/A work for the family until I have to pick up the children between 3-4. I then transport them to extra curricular activities until about 7 when I pick them up and take them home. I do shopping for the family and also cook dinner for them every night.

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am          

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am          

Availability Questions

Full time
Part time  I am looking for part time baby sitting jobs. 70- 90 rand per hour.

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been au pairing since I was 18. I have cared for children professionally since 2009. (7 ears).
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started with visits to Maitland Cottage and helped with the kiddies there while I was in school, I then babysat most evenings which led me to working with kids- it´s just the greatest experience watching little ones develop and become these amazing people, knowing you are a part of what they become.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 months old, whilst also caring for a 2yr old boy and 6 year old girl with the same family.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I take my dog on all sorts of outings to get him exploring different areas, gym, photography, and studying- I like to keep learning. I am also a great cook, have cooked for the whole family in every position i have had.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Being someone they can come to and rely on, a supportive and understanding person is so important for a child to have- and someone who can get down to their level and have fun while keeping them safe.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love going to all sorts of animal parks, and I am a huge horse lover and rider so love giving kids lessons- I also enjoy taking them to the beach to build sandcastles and just let loose and have fun.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?It would depend on the emergency, so I would have to assess the situation and if medical care is needed rush to an emergency room if possible or call for help- and of course inform the parents immediately.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have never really had any traumatic or difficult situations that I haven´t been able to resolve fairly quickly and efficiently.
What is your approach to discipline?Every parent is different with how a child is disciplined- asking the parents would be the first step. Never ever hit a child no matter what!

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum? A 2 year old when throwing a tantrum does not have the ability  to understand reason- they can throw a tantrum for the tiniest of change. Time outs are usually good for them to calm down a bit, or positive reinforcement with a bottle or perhaps they need a nap.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall? A 5 year old can be punished and they can understand their actions, I would take them aside and ask them why they did what they did, and then explain why it was not the right thing to do.Giving them time out to think about what they have done.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?An 8 year old is a bit easier to contend with, as they understand how they can "manipulate" a situation to get their way and they test the waters. It is usually simple enough to say if homework is not done, a fun time cannot be had- no TV no games etc.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All age groups. Love babies!
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I still work in the afternoons for an amazing family, the kids are teenagers now. The Voloshin-family.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as creative and fun, caring and trustworthy, and most importantly, We  reliable.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastI usually make a full breakfast, or just a small omelet with avocado, tomatoes and mushrooms
LunchFruit salad is always a light healthy option
DinnerLamb curry/ stew is my favourite to make with basmati rice
SnackFor children, cucumber carrots fruit, nuts and raisins or biltong.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have my mother who lives in Cape Town as well as 2 older sisters. I also have a much older brother who lives in California, he has just come down to Cape Town for a visit. I have a beautiful dog who I treasure more than anything. Me and my older sister are best friends. We are all very close. My older sister, Jenna is an au pair with Sitters4u, my other sister is a fashion designer and my brother works in the IT industry as an engineer. My mother is an estate agent.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.