Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Samantha (Silivia)

Personal Details

Reference # 201-62549
Name Samantha (Silivia)
Nationality South African | Bolivia
Age 36
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Spanish (1st) Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes (Feb 2015)
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)1998 Silver Opel Astra
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?21/03/2004

Education

Secondary Education
Victoria Park High School (Port Elizabeth) (2000)
Tertiary Education
  • Doctrine of Art Therapy - The Art Therapy Academy- distance course (4 degree)(1st year) -2015
  • A. T. Academy, South Africa & USA - Alternative Therapy-2015
  • Beyond Basics Cape Town, South Africa- Excel Software -2014
  • Varsity College Port Elizabeth, South Africa - Event Management - 2011
  • Corcoran School of Art, Washington DC (USA)-  Flash Animation - 2008
  • Corcoran School of Art, Washington DC (USA)-Cartooning & Illustration - 2008
  • School of Visual Arts, NY (USA)- Writing & Illustrating Children´s Books - 2007
  • Damelin Port Elizabeth, South Africa- Multimedia Design - 2006
  • NMMU, Port Elizabeth, South Africa - Fashion Design & Technology - 2002
  • FAMSA Port Elizabeth, South Africa -Socio - Psychology Counselling Course -2002
  • NMMU Port Elizabeth, South Africa - Art & Graphic Design - 2001
First aid Training Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2015 - March - June (4 Months). It was volunteer work. I needed more of schedule and also needed to get a paid job as I could no longer afford to continue volunteering.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?12 children per class Age ranged from 3 - 12 years old Both female and male
What were your duties?Art Teacher; The school is for children with different developmental issues. So for example ADD or autism. I started with 5 days a week from 8am to 5pm, then over the year changed; I would assist them in completing their lesson plans. The job spec changed rapidly though and went down to 3 days a week from 8am to 2pm.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2013 - 2014: 7 Months. It was more of an expense than the actual salary. It was a very small salary, and my petrol was not being covered by the salary
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?15 children per class Age ranged from 3 - 12 years old. Both female and male.
What were your duties?Art Teacher. Sculpture, songs, themed classes. I would give 20 to 40 minute classes. 
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving2009  - 2010: 12 Months I had to move back to South Africa (my mom passed away and I had to come back to support my family).
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 year old boy, 9 year old girl
What were your duties?Au Pair, Family # 4: Towson, Baltimore, MD, USA: This family unit was a newly formed family, & they had requested the need for specialised behavioural care for their kids. The kids were adopted, while in my care by their grandparents The kids needed specific integration & behavioural care. I worked with the kids new parents, to help the kids direct their nervous, sometimes negative energy into a healthy & active lifestyle, so that they would be able to grow into a healthy functioning family unit. All Responsibilities included in a typical day: Morning run: wake kids up, make & give kids breakfast, make kids school lunch; drive kids to school. While kids are at school: I was in charge of the kids rooms & laundry etc. Afternoon run consisted of: Making kids lunch, or snack depending on the length of school day; help kids with homework, arranging play dates & taking the kids to their appointments & extra mural activities. Taking the kids on outings to museums, to playing in the park & so on. Part of my work with the kids, was applying art as the creative medium for effective counseling & social integration. Evening Run: Making dinner for the k!ids, bathing the kids, & then putting the kids to bed.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been involved in childcare professionally since 2009.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I am currently completing my Art Therapy degree and my goals would be that once I have completed I would be working with children. I started taking care of kids for extra pocket money when I was younger and I was interested in helping children with behavioral problems. I then worked in a nursery school for almost a year before I went to the USA as an au pair.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?2 years old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I do a lot of creative projects or go walk at the beach. I also go and see a lot of the expos and exhibitions in and around Cape Town.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I am a passionate believer in using the power of creativity, in helping our youth grow to become grounded and well rounded.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I am sincerely passionate about mentoring, encouraging and directing our youth in been able to reach a platform of empowerment and independence with the power of creativity.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?It depends on the emergency as there are procedure protocols to follow for different things.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?My biggest challenge working with children has most probably been at the beginning. As with any new person joining a family one needs to gain the trust and respect of the kids. I have struggled with a few situations at first, but I have managed to find my communication breaks any barriers.
What is your approach to discipline?Consequences, for example if they like to watch TV, then they get none until the action is learnt.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Affirmation and boundaries need to be implanted from an early age. I believe in reaffirming the child & if not they get a time out.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?You need to state that drawing on the walls is not allowed and if its a first time offense then the child needs to help clean the wall. Then you can show them where they can draw on.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?This is probably the challenge I face the most, homework time. I find it simple, firstly parents and guardians need to agree on all terms and if the kids refute to do there homework, they don´t get to play their tv games or what ever they like to do in their leisure time until there work is done.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?3 years old to 15 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am sincerely passionate about mentoring, encouraging and directing our youth in been able to reach a platform of empowerment and independence with the power of creativity.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs, veggies and toast
LunchChicken salad sandwich
DinnerCottage pie and salad
SnackFruit or vegetables
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Meals that take very long to make.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 2 and 4 years old?
Providing language and motor skill development activities, for example through art, singing, playing, dancing. For co ordination, dancing to a beat, play therapy, for example playing ball etc.I like to find out more about what the child likes and create activities around the child. 
Explain the process of changing a diaper; are you comfortable with changing diapers? Have you ever had to sterilize bottles before? Can you prepare meals for infants?
 
Have you ever had to care for more than 1 child at a time under the age of 2?
 I would prefer to do an infant care course before doing so. 
How do you feel potty training should be approached?
Yes, in my experience, I reinforced the necessity for them to go to the bathroom, take the child to the bathroom regularly.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
I use removal of privileges. 
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
It depends on the child, educational TV is fine with me or if the parents allow a certain show.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?
Yes, as long as it is pre-arranged. I have no problem with that.

Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?

Yes
 Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes, no problem, we must just pre agree as to what is and is not allowed in lunch boxes.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I'm originally from South America and that is why my first languages is English and Spanish. I have a brother who is a pilot. My father is a Doctor with his own practice and my mom runs her own events company. My family and I share the love for animals and the creative arts.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.