Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Sarah

Personal Details

Reference # 201-62190
Name Sarah
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)BMW 320D 2008
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?14/12/2007

Education

Secondary Education
Amanzimtoti High School (Durban) - 2006
Tertiary Education

Diploma in Photography -NMMU -2012

I have applied to start studying towards a Bachelors of Education (BEd) in foundation phase through UNISA starting - 2016.

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2015 – June 2015, I moved and was no longer able to assist
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Twins, age 5 years old
What were your duties?My duties as an aupair for Natalie Bromfield were limited strictly to the children.  I was in sole charge of a set of 5 year old twin girls.  I made sure that they were ready for school in the mornings, dropped them off at school, fetched them from school and looked after them until the end of the day.  I fed them, bathed them, prepared medication for them as needed, took them on various outings etc.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2014 – December 2014. Was a 1 year contract. They offered to extend it but it would only have been 2 days a week which wasn't enough hours for me.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Girl, age 11 years old and a boy age 7 years old and a new born infant
What were your duties?As an au pair to the family I did all general child care duties, including preparing meals, making babies bottles, changing of nappies etc game time, eg playing outdoors, baking, dancing as well other child stimulating activities,  Homework with the older children and driving children to extra mural activities

  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2013 – November 2013, I moved to Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Grades 4 to 9
What were your duties?Master Maths Tutor, basic Administration – Entering student records onto the computer, photocopying, filing. Overseeing the grades 4 to 9 with regards to their progress within Master Maths as well as their school classes. One-on-one maths tutoring
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?2 ½ years professionally, but with family and friends: 9 years.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I like kids a lot, it was by chance that I got involved, I was put in contact with a friend whose nanny had disappeared and she asked if I would help her out as I wasn’t working at the time. I did and the longer I was with them, the more I found I thoroughly enjoyed au pairing. I then later tried tutoring but found I enjoyed au pairing more.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?1 week old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I help my husband at the waterslides that he owns in Muizenburg. I am active, enjoy photography, cycling and hiking. I also enjoy baking.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I enjoy seeing how children learn and grow, I find it intriguing how children grow. I am planning on studying education and am registering to start this degree in 2016.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Drawing, art, painting, baking, playing outside, games, and swimming.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I can’t think of any moment that I found really difficult.
What is your approach to discipline?I like to discuss this with the parents. Every parent has a different style of parenting and every child a different style of raising their children. I am very patient find this is the best asset towards what I do.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would let the child have the tantrum, talk to them afterwards and give hugs
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain why the child is not allowed to do that and then provide paper for drawing.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I have not had this experience before.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I prefer from newborn up to around 5 years of age.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Every now and then I do babysitting.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I want to study before having children.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Kind, soft hearted, a bit shy at first, loving, fun. My mom would say the same, I take after her. I think she would say I a strong and determined.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOats, cereal, fruit
LunchToasted cheese sandwiches, chopped apple or banana.
DinnerLamb chops, chips, and vegetables, fish and mash and veg,
Snackfruit, biscuits etc
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Not really, Im just not great at preparing food that requires spices
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My dad passed away about 10 years ago, my mom is in admin, I have 3 older brothers, my middle brother has 3 kids of his own, the other 2 are not yet married. My eldest brother builds catamarans, the middle one runs a gutter company, and a fire fighter. The youngest is a machine minder and currently trying to get his pilot’s license. We are quite close as a family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.