Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Carin

Personal Details

Reference # 201-62189
Name Carin
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st) English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Chev Spark Light 2015
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?26/10/07

Education

secondary Education
Stellenbosch High School - 2007
Tertiary Education

Event management certificate- Boland College- 2012

Graphic Design and Photography 2 years - Stellenbosch Academy

ECD N4 and N5 - College of Cape Town - 2014

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2014 – March 2015, I was an assistant teacher, I want to work more one on one with children.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 ½ years to 6 years of age, 7 to 10 children per class
What were your duties?I would assist the teacher. I did activities with them, planning, developmental activities, changing diapers, story time and nap time, receiving them in the mornings, assisting at meals times, potty training, clay, drawing, baking,  the children follow a syllabus and we provided themed activities in order to meet syllabus requirements. I got on well with my  co workers and enjoyed this role tremendously.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSince 2010, they are older now, but if they need me I still assist.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy from new born and the girl from 4 months
What were your duties?Adhoc babysitting, putting them down, feeding them, changing diapers, assistance up to 6 hours per occasion.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary till July 2014, It made me sad working here, it is for children from disadvantaged children, they did not practice what I had learnt.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 months to 1 ½ years , 14  to 22 children per group
What were your duties?I would receive the children in the morning, feed them,  activities with the children,  changing diapers,  putting them down for sleeps
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?2009 to present: babysitting Worked in a school working children from 4months to 1 ½: 6 months; toddlers: 6months; assistant  teacher: 6 months; Gr. R: 6 months
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love children, I love their sense of freedom and the way they express themselves, I love seeing them grow and believe I have a magical connection to them.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?4 Months
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?No jobs at present but I knit,cook and enjoy gardening.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I normally do a weeks planning ahead. Planning an activities, usually around a theme, I would teach them skills, I enjoy being outside and growing plants, I love being creative,
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When a child reacts or having development issues, I will research it, and then work on fixing the problem. For a example a 5 year old I was caring for was wetting the bed. His mom was putting diapers on him. We discovered that the actual putting on of the diapers was a problem, he felt traumatised and belittled by it. I researched and worked with the mom and we eventually got him off them.
What is your approach to discipline?I talk firmly with a child and explain why something is wrong. I won’t punish them, for example if they hurt someone else I will go with them to apologise to the hurt party.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would wait for them to finish, give them a hug and try figure out what is wrong.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain why its wrong and then assist them to clean it
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would give them a reason to do it and assist them to do. I lead by example
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?The younger the better, the oldest I feel comfortable with is around 12 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I´m energetic, I´m in touch with my inner child, I love nature, I´m friendly and happy, I Love laughing, well presented and organised, loyal, honest, creative, Im a great chef, love animals.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs benedict, home made hollandaise,
LunchA cooked lunch, perhaps fish and salad and wedges, or something similar
DinnerI can literally cook anything. I love cooking and baking, so whatever the family would like prepared
Snackfruit, yoghurt, nuts
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I love cooking, I have been known to go so far as to make homemade pasta for example
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My parents are still together. My mom is a researcher for microbiology and my dad is an architect. I have 2 brothers who are older. One is married with 2 children. He is an architect. My other brother is a civil engineer.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.