Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Julia

Personal Details

Reference # 201-62186
Name Julia
Nationality South African
Age 27
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Xhosa(2nd) Afrikaans (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Ka 2008
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedN/A
In what year did you obtain your driving license?17/11/2010

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend highschoolWynberg Girls´ High School (2010)
What was your passrate for Matric82%
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?

UCT: completed BA (triple major in English, Xhosa and Psychology) (2011-2014)

UCT: Currently completing Postgraduate Certificate in Education (Intermediate Phase) (to be completed end of 2015).

First aid TrainingYes, but it needs to be renewed.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2014 to January 2015, 9 months and left due to timetabling issues (my new course didn't fit with the family schedule). I still assist them over holidays on occasion
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 child, 12 years old, female
What were your duties?Au pairing: I would start, at around 14h30,fetching from school, supervising homework, holiday activities, support in the kitchen (daughter enjoyed cooking and baking, so offered supervision in the kitchen) her parents would get home around 18h00 to 18h30. I really loved this position. The parents were both academics. I had a good relationship with both parents. I felt like it was a friendship even though it was professional.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2015 to present (September 2015)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 boys, 1 aged 11 years old, 1 aged 8 years old.
What were your duties?I tutor the older child every Tuesday and Thursday for Grade 5. I tutor mainly Afrikaans and Maths. Whatever else he needs help in as well. Babysitting for both boys on occasion. I get on very well with Sioux. We are both very A type personalities. It has been slow process for the child  commit to doing work. We raised his Afrikaans mark from 42% to mid 60's. Getting him to sit and focus is sometimes tough as he has ADHD. Sometimes we have good sessions and sometimes not so good. Overall though I am pleased with his progress and we are seeing an verall improvement in his work.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingNov 2011 – Jan 2014. I moved to Rondebosch so it was no longer viable to assist.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl, 12 years old when I started.
What were your duties?I was at varsity when I started, however I was still living at home. I stayed in the area and my parents were friends with them. We went on holiday together and I spent some time with her. Her mom noticed this and asked me to start assisting her for adhoc babysitting once a week. Later when I got my car to became more of an au pair role. I would fetch her and take her to extra murals, assist with homework and have dinner with her. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full timeN/A
Part timeMinimum of R50 an hour

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have worked in child care on and off for 5 years (ad hoc babysitting, ad hoc au pairing, and one long term au pairing job)
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?When I was sixteen my neighbour asked me to babysit their young children, and it was something I really enjoyed, and so once I got a car, I was able to offer my services to people other than my neighbor.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?7 months old (babysitting)
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I tutor on Tuesdays and Thursdays. On Saturday mornings I work for an elderly man who has lost 80% of his sight. I help him with organising, emails and any administration that he needs assistance with.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I generally enjoy working with people, children included. I get on very well children, and find that with my training, I have learnt the skill at getting children on my side, while simultaneously being able to maintain boundaries and house rules.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy outdoor activities (such as dog-walking, geocaching, and hiking). I also enjoy drawing, reading and playing with play-dough. In my au pairing job, I also really enjoyed baking and cooking.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would evaluate the situation, and establish whether or not I was able to handle the situation myself. If not, I would immediately call the appropriate emergency services, before calling the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have been lucky enough that I have not encountered too many difficult situations while caring for a child. The most difficult would certainly be when I was caring for a 7 month old boy. He had never been left with someone other than his parents before, and he was clearly very scared. So I just held him, and tried to sooth him until he fell asleep, and made sure to keep monitoring him throughout the night.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe always to be firm but fair. I try to adopt the same discipline philosophy as the parents I am working for. With parents who are more relaxed, I tend to adopt a similar approach. With parents who are more strict, I tend to make the rules very clear from the beginning. I am not a shouter, but I can be very firm when necessary.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would put the two year old into time out, and once s/he has calmed down, I would ask for an apology, before continuing with whatever activity we were busy with.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would immediately take the crayons away, and then explain why this behaviour is not acceptable. The crayons would not be returned until an apology was given, and if an effort was made to clean the wall (I would provide assistance and supervision)
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain the fun activities waiting for us once he/she has finished his/her homework. This might sound like a strange technique, but it is one that has worked for me in the past with multiple children, including one who has ADHD). E.g. "We have lots of baking to do today, but we will only do that once your homework is done. So we can sit here and you can do nothing, or you can quickly finish up your homework, so that we can start baking and have some fun!"
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with all ages.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still tutor and have babysat for them once, recently. The reference listed still contacts me for babysitting, and I also babysit for a family up the road from me.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?None.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am fun, creative and intelligent. I am extremely motivated, and passionate.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs and bacon with avo and mushrooms
LunchToasted sandwich with a piece of fruit
DinnerHomemade pizza and salad
SnackDried fruit and nuts
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Not really - I am willing to try anything.
What is your teaching style? I am firm but fair. I am quite strict. I am calm. There children know where the line is and know not to cross it. i like to use positive reinforcement through provision of reward on completion of work.The first thing I do is ask how children learn best. I then assess the way in which they learn best. Sometimes the learner is not aware of the best way that they learn. I try to adjust my teaching style caters to the the child's learning skills. 
Have you ever worked with/ taught children with disabilities?
 Yes, I currently tutor an ADHD child. I have also worked with a child who was not fluent in English, he was a French speaker.
How can you help a child become an independent learner?
 The first step is to provide space for them to do so. Once I have gauged how much the child can handle by them selves. Then provide them with just a little bit more.  By showing them that I trust them to do the work, the child will usually want to show they can do it. I then provide positive feedback whether they were able to do it or not and can work on what they were unable to complete.
What factors might interfere with achieving your tutoring goals for a child?
The child's own personal goals may be different from the parents. Sometimes they will self sabotage, so poor relationships with a tutor can be a hindrance. Sometimes the child can't see the end goal, or feels that the extra work provided by a tutor is unnecessary. It may take time for the child to build a relationship with the child and this can seem negative in the beginning.
How, specifically, would you help a child deal with the problem he’s had with staying motivated [or whatever emotional or behavioral issues your child has had]? I believe its part of the tutor's job to provide motivation to the child. I don't believe in stupid children, I believe in unmotivated children. So this is a big part of your job. I believe you take on a lot of roles with a child. It's important to know your own limitations though so if I see an issue which I feel may be more personal that is effecting the child, I would advise the parents to perhaps seek counseling with the school counselor. 
How will you work and communicate with a child’s teachers?I have never been in direct communication with a teacher for a student  I am tutoring, usually the teacher communicates with the parent and the parent to me.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I grew up in HoutBay with my parents and younger brother. My dad is a doctor and my mum is teacher. My brother is in his second year at UCT, studying a BSc.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.