Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Janine

Personal Details

Reference # 201-62173
Name Janine
Nationality South African
Age 54
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (1st), German (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Renault Clio 2005 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1983

Education

Secondary Education
Noorder Paarl High School - 1983
Tertiary Education
TEFL Conversational German at Goethe Institute
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2013 to August 2015 Family relocated to Germany
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children Aged 2 & 4 Girls.
What were your duties?I would start at 7am. Prepare lunchboxes, Allow them to choose their own outfits and helped them to get dressed. Lift to school. I would then return to the house and do chores in the morning. Washing their clothes, sorting out the clothes ironed by the cleaner.  Extramurals and outings Bath them, put them to bed and read to them. Went cycling with them. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingOct 2012 to Feb 2013 and now in August 2015
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Daycare Worked with babies from aged 4-9 months old
What were your duties?Bottle feed them, change their nappies, put them to sleep play, play and play with them.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2010 to Feb 2012. I needed to put a line between my personal and professional life and wanted a live out role.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?A boy age 5 and a girl age 7 years old.
What were your duties?I lived in. I cooked for the family, supervised house staff, lifting the children to and from school, lifting them to extra murals, I assisted with homework. If she was on call, I would supervise bathing.We would do reading before bed. Preparing lunch boxes. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?8+ years
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Was asked in the Ritz Hotel by an Israeli family to take care of their daughters ( then aged 2 & 15) I don´t have any kids of my own but have enough love inside me to give to someone else´s kids and I simply love what I am doing.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?4 months.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Reading, Ballroom dancing, listening to classical music.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?How they make me see the world through their eyes. How I can assist in helping them developing into well rounded, well balanced and well respected individuals.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Reading, colouring-in, playing in the park and having picnics. Driving them to their extramural activities eg. Ballet class. Driving them to outings eg Aquarium.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?If a medical emergency occurred I would give CPR.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Child would cry bitterly every morning because she tried to make friends but no one ´played´ with her. I would talk gently to her and inform her that she must step back and let the friends come to her because I did not want her to be needy. I would play her favourite CD in the car or would tell her a story or we would sing but most importantly would hug her before and after walking her to the classroom and would just tell her that I love her and she must enjoy her day at school.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in discipline as all of us want to be respected, well balanced and well rounded individuals I do the time out obviously age appropriate eg 2 minutes.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?In my experience I always try to distract them and it works all the time or I would give one warning and their would be one consequence.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Would inform him it is not allowed and give a piece of paper to draw on and then allow him with the parent´s permission to put his drawing on the wall
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Never experienced an 8-year old refusing to do homework while in my care. I set the ground rules right in the beginning. We would arrive home, then he/she would change, have lunch and we would start with the homework immediately. And sometimes we would even do homework in my car depending on the time of an extramural
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?1 years to 8 years old
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am calm, kind, loving, hardworking, loyal, straightforward, honest, reliable and have all the necessary attributes that make me an excellent au pair.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastThe kids favourite cereal
LunchMy experience with my families either a salad or the main meal like veggies with chicken or fish
DinnerVeggies, chicken, fish with a salad
SnackFruit or yoghurt
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I don´t like cooking but will do it for the kids. I don´t like to prepare fish. In my career as an au pair I only had to cook for the Kirst and Van Niekerk families.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My dad died 13 years ago. My mum lives in Swakopmund, Namibia. I have one sister whose boy is 13 years old and she runs her own business as a pattern maker. My eldest brother has 2 sons, one is at university and the youngest is still at school. He is a lecturer at a university in China. My youngest brother has his own business as an architect.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.