Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Fréda

Personal Details

Reference # 201-61683
Name Fréda
Nationality South African
Age 27
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st) English(1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Figo 2011
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?07/01/2011

Education

Secondary Education
Upington High School - 2010
Tertiary Education
B.Ed Foundation Phase University of the Free State Completed - 2014
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI worked for Ruth for 2 years, I had to leave, because I moved to Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I au paired 2 girls, when I started they were ages 8 and 10.
What were your duties?I au paired for the family. I picked them up from school in the afternoons, drove them to and from their extra mural activities and I helped them with their homework. I enjoyed taking them to ballet and tap and swimming, I would supervise play dates. I made them snacks on occasion. I would finish with them at 5pm. I got on well with Ruth, we never had issues and had an open relationship. She would tell me what she needed done, or if she wanted something done different. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI  volunteered for 3 and a half years and I had to leave, because I moved to Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?At the 1-3 yrs: Every Sunday there were between 5-15 kids. At the 6-7 yrs: There were about 30 children every Sunday, boys and girls.
What were your duties?I played with them, lead praise and worship and presented lessons to them.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving(2015) I just helped out in the classroom while the teacher was of sick (5 weeks).
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?There were 30 gr.R children (5-6 yrs), boys and girls.
What were your duties?I was the teacher in the class, I presented lessons, helped the children with their activities, did the admin in the class and everything else a teacher does in the classroom.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am      

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

What do you enjoy most about childcare, how did you get involved and why would you like to do au pairing?
I just love children, I love to see them grow. I studied education but I realised that I prefer working in small groups. I worked in a location school with grade 3's at the beginning of 2015. I am a soft person, and dealing with the drug problems (even with grade 3's and violence). I have decided I would like to study to become an art therapist and will be studying correspondence in 2016 towards this.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?18 months
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy drawing, painting, swimming and reading. 
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Not at the moment.
What are your interests?Children, art and nature.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy creative activities, like painting, making things, collage, building things, art, cooking, going on outings.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Assist the child in any way possible, take them to the hospital or call an ambulance and emergency numbers.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?There was a girl in my class who had an epileptic fit, I removed the other children, cleared a space around her and made sure she was safe and could not hurt herself. I had one of the children call the department head while I stayed with the girl. We then arranged an ambulance for her.
What is your approach to discipline?I acknowledge when a child is well behaved. I believe in rewarding children for good behavior and not paying attention to the bad. If a child is not behaving well consistently, I will talk to them or use removal of privileges or timeout as a last resort. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?First i would try to talk to them, and get them to calm down. I would be loving and once they are calm I would try to find out what was wrong so that we can fix it. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain that walls are not for drawing on, give them paper, if they still want to draw on the wall, I would put paper up on the wall so that they have a designated place to draw.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would tell him or her that they would get a reward if they complete the work. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?18 months to 8 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Friendly, loving, silly sometimes, responsible, punctual, honest.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes 
Breakfastbacon, eggs and toast or oats
LunchChicken stir fry or chicken with vegetables
DinnerWors and mashed potato with vegetables
SnackYogurt or fruits
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Leg of lamb and more complicated meals.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have 1 sister, my parents are still happily married, we are all very close, caring and lovable. Family and friends are very important to me. We are from a farm and grew up on a farm. My sister studied nursing and is now doing nursing education to train other nurses.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.