Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Macaylla

Personal Details

Reference # 201-61619
Name Macaylla
Nationality South African
Age 24
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) and Afrikaans (2nd but family is Afrikaans)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2011 Toyota Atos
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?22  March 2013

Education

Secondary Education
Fairmont high school
Tertiary Education

Higher certificate in adult and youth development (2015)(UNISA)

I am registering to do a (BA) BEd. in 2016

First aid TrainingYes, but needs renewal. It was an informal course I did in order to au pair in America.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2014 - March 2015: I wanted to study towards my degree and returned to South Africa.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls, aged 3 and 7 years old when I started.
What were your duties?I was a live in au pair. I would assist preparing lunch for the older child, I would wake the youngest up at 8h00 in the morning, prepare her breakfast, and would then start the mornings activities. She was not in a preschool so it was my responsibility to teach her what she would otherwise be learning in a school environment. I would do the learning schedule and lesson planning for the week in advance.I would do art projects and tell them stories. I was also there over the summer so during that period I would find them activities to do and we would go on a lot of outings together. I was responsible for providing lunch to the youngest and keeping her busy and learning during week days until the oldest got home at 3pm. I would take them both to gymnastics in the afternoon twice a week and also did the driving to the older children's extra murals including softball, dancing and occasionally to swimming. I was responsible for sorting out the children's playdates and social schedules. I also occasionally assisted by doing the grocery shopping. In the evenings I was responsible for doing bath time. The dad would look after them after that when we was in town, or if he was away, mom usually got home at around 7 or 8pm and I would look after them and do bed time routines on occasion. I looked after both children for a week when both parents were away. I really loved working for the family.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2013 - November 2013: I wasn't making enough money, I did not want to leave, but had to in order to save money to go and au pair over seas.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls, aged 6 and 11 years old.
What were your duties?I would arrive at 6h30am, I would get the kids ready for school, I would prepare breakfast, I would also check and pack their bags for school. I would then drive them from Century City to school in Athlone. The youngest finished school at 13h30. I would pick up the youngest and we would then do something fun to pass the time until the oldest finished school at around 15h30. I would then take them home, do homework with them and I would then make sure they bathed. Mom would usually return home at around 6 or 7pm and sometimes later.  I got on very well with this client. She loved feedback and was very strict. We had a good relationship and feedback between us was always structured which I enjoyed.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving16 January 2013 to 1 March 2013, this was a practical training experience. I needed 200 hours of childcare experience in order to go to au pair in America.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Teaching assistant to a main teacher of 15 to 20 children, boys and girls aged 3 to 5 years old.
What were your duties?I assisted main teacher in instituting the curriculum and activities she planned for the children and assisting in supervising them, assisting in fine motor and motor skill development. Doing creative activities etc. Occasionally I would also do aftercare duties. 
Do you know the applicant? 

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving2009 until present, still assisting
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls one from age 2 and the other from new born
What were your duties?Adhoc babysitting in evenings or over weekends. I am very close with this client and love working for them. 
Do you know the applicant? 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Southern Suburbs
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part time
Negotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?4 years professionally. 
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I was always very good with children from a young age and I think it will contribute in a positive way for my future as a teacher. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?12 months old (babysitting occasionally), 2 years old (au pairing).
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I dance and I read a lot. At the moment I am waitressing until I find another role in childcare.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I enjoy contributing to their future in a positive way and watching them learn new things and also learning from them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Taking them on outings to museums and the beach.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would call the emergency line or take them to the hospital depending on how serious the situation and then I would call the parents immediately.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The little girl I looked after in America fell off a chair in the kitchen and cut her lip open very badly. I called her mother and while we waited for to get there I calmed her down and kept her mind on other things and told her a story.
What is your approach to discipline?I use the time out chair and depending on the situation I take away either a toy for an hour or they wont be able to go on the outing for the day.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would just leave them until they have calmed down then speak to them in a calm manner and explain why they are in trouble and enforce whatever form of discipline the parents require.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would put them in time out and explain to them what they can and cannot draw on and why.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would give them a 10 minute free time and explain that their homework needs to be completely after those 10minutes
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From ages 1 and up.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I occasionally baby sit in the evening for family friends.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a very bubbly, energetic person. I like to be organized and I enjoy working hard and keeping myself busy. I love being around children because they are so fun loving and I feel their loving nature rubs off on adults and causes us to be silly in a good way and that feeling is fantastic.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs
LunchSandwhich
DinnerSpagetti or any pasta
SnackFruits
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I do not eat red meat but I am happy prepare it.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I live with my mom and step dad and my younger brother. My parents are divorced and my dad passed away 2 months ago. I am very close to my mom we share almost everything and my dad and I were very close as well. My brother is still in school and we help each other with everything that we can, I try and be there for him as much as possible.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.