Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Clotilde

Personal Details

Reference # 201-61322
Name Clotilde
Nationality Italian with permananent residence
Age 36
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Italian (1st) Spanish (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Nissan 2006
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?14/02/2008

Education

Secondary Education
Liceo Classico Gian Battista Vico, Ortona, Italy
Tertiary Education

BA in Art and Communication - University for Foreigners of Perugia - 2005

Diploma in Public Relations-Varsity College-2008,

Cape Town Short course in Journalism-CPUT- 2011

TESOL Certification- Claremont- June 2012

TOEF Certification IIGV-Vietnam-2014

First aid TrainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving14 November 2013 and 16 December 2014, I wanted to come back to South Africa.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Both genders, classes of 17 to 25 children, from aged 5 years to 18 years old.
What were your duties?Vietnam: I would work Monday Wednesday, Thursday Friday Saturday and Sunday, or every day during holiday school. I would arrive early to do lesson preparation. I would mark tests, write reports, do projects, provide feedback on behavior. I would do level testing for prospective students. I would try to make my lessons fun, exchange ideas with other teachers in how to increase the fun factor of lessons, I did 3 hour lessons on weekdays and weekends, full day. I would work with different children weekly. they would see me once a week for a lesson and everyday I would see all of them during summer school. I enjoyed teaching, I got to interact with a very wide range of ages. I got exposed to the culture of Vietnam and overall enjoyed my time there. I also enjoyed the interaction with the other teachers. I love working in teams.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2012 to September 2013, I left to go to Vietnam.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Boys and girls, aged from 5 to 6 years old, 20 to 28 students at a time.
What were your duties?I would teach from 8h30 to 5h30. I would do lesson planning for the week on weekends. We would do ground work in the mornings and play work in the afternoons, in-acting what we had learnt in the morning. I got very much into craft and drama, getting the children to speak. I really enjoyed the experience as it was my first teaching experience. I love year planning and found the thing I disliked to be a lack of freedom, I like planning and having a year plan but the teachers were treated as temporary which made planning ahead difficult. I learnt a lot. I learnt to relate well with other cultures. I learnt time management and improved my memory working with so many people and how to read people and interact with them. I also learnt to speak in public and become confident as a teacher. I learnt about conflict management and how to handle altercations between the kids. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have 2 and a half years of teaching experience at present.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?South Africa is not a good place for me to pursue my passion for teaching. I belong to a reading and writing club khayelitsha. I am interested in working with a younger age group and am studying development and to me au pairing is better than teaching as you develop stronger bonds with the children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From 4 years old and upwards.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I garden and I jog and have dogs, I write for Eco Atlas, and read.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?To see the development that happens, how they make sense of the world. I find the responsibility is empowering for me, to help and care for someone and be responsible for a person who cannot yet fend for themselves makes me feel useful in life.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Cooking, craft, outdoor activities, for example making eco bricks with un-recyclable plastics, making story books, scrap booking, story telling, going to the beach, sewing, making props and doing plays together, drama skill development. I love researching projects and doing them.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I had a 4 year old who had very bad separation anxiety, she cried every day for a week. It was the first time she had not been in her mothers presence and her first week of school. She wouldn't let me near her, and wouldn't socialize, it was traumatic for her and she couldn't understand why she couldn't be with her. I ignored the behavior, eventually she started adapting and we ended up developing a very good and close relationship over time.
What is your approach to discipline?I communicate boundaries, I will usually make a poster with these, I make light of it. I like to have a practical framework that the child is aware of and can go back to. I like to discuss everything with the parents and talk about what is and isnt allowed as I have no desire to change anything the parents don´t want changed. I am fair but firm and feel communicating is the most important aspect of positive discipline.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am most comfortable with children aged from 4 years to 10 years of age.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a motivated passionate person - I love nature, the environment and people. I am curious and I have a fun, positive spirit. I love relating to people that are different to me and discover something new every day.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastFresh-made yogurth, fresh fruit, a slice of toast with cheese.
LunchSalad with tomato sauce, fresh salad.
DinnerRoasted chicken, steamed green beans and potato.
SnackHome-made biscotti, fresh fruit.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Lamb.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are five in my family, my parents, myself, my sister and brother. My parents have been together for 35 years, I am the first born child, so have always always looked after my siblings. My sister Margherita is 6 younger than me and my brother Antonio is two years younger. We have two dogs and two cats.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.