Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Michael Theo

Personal Details

Reference # 201-61187
Name Michael Theo
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Male
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (2nd), Dutch (3rd),Spanish(3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Renault Cleo, 2007
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2010

Education

Secondary Education
SACS -2009
Tertiary Education

ETA:Sports Conditioning and Nutrition Certificate

1st year: Personal training

2nd year: Sports Conditioning

First aid TrainingYes, Level 3, I am a life guard

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2014-Present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One girl,  aged ten and provide lifting for her friend as well.
What were your duties?Collect girls, drop friend off, go home, provide snack, play, settle child, start homework, do homework, play.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2013-Present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One boy, aged 14 year old when I started.
What were your duties?Collect from school, help with homework. Encourage healthy ways of life, outdoor activities, hiking, playing in the park. Promote nutritional health
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingSeason 2013 to 2014 and 2014 to 2015, I am a coach at the life saving club, I am on the committee of the club and vice club captain
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?boys and girls aged from 9 years to 14 years and up to 26 years old, from 5 to 40 people.
What were your duties?I assist with coaching for life guarding, and provide fitness and conditioning training. I also set up and do trailruns with the girls groups, I am personally training a girl who is an SA champ for beach running. I do planning for the lessons and training for the groups. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time Negotiable
Part time Negotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?3 years, since 2012. 
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I understand the importance of surrounding children in a compassionate environment. I´ve been asked by people to care for their children or help them out. I enjoy working with children and generally prefer their company as they are not yet conditioned by society as we are as adults, I enjoy passing on what I have learnt in life and providing children with guidance to living a healthy life style.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 weeks, I looked after our char's newborn while she worked.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am a Lifeguard, coach and mentor, I thoroughly enjoy hiking in the mountains, spending time with my dearly beloved and her family, fixing up scrumptious vegan meals for myself, practicing Yoga, writing expressive poems, healing my friends, talking about world affairs and providing insight, wisdom and understanding to overcome them.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?The impact and influence you may have on their lives, since children are very receptive. I also very much enjoy and appreciate the view children have on certain matters.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Walking, hiking, going to the beach, sharing meals, drawing, painting, talking, puzzles, engaging in a sport of their fancy, discovering their personality, letting them be expressive, I thoroughly enjoy letting children act or thinking of ways to let them be expressive, show their exuberance.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Remain calm, call for help, assess the situation, think how I can intervene, take action.
What is your approach to discipline?I´m not sure of how to define my ´way of discipline´, I try to bring to light for the child to understand what they may have done wrong/what´s appropriate or what´s not deemed necessary. To let the child see the discrepancy in their actions, for them to be the judge of their own actions, obviously based on their own morals and values instilled by their parents, thus if inappropriate, I will inform them that their behavior is indecent, supply an explanation and educate them, share wisdom, of how to behave in such a way that does not bring oneself ill-fate.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Reason
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Supply an explanation, explaining how it is not deemed appropriate and the consequences of his actions.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Give them understanding and attention, try complete the homework in an entertaining way, eg. play out a game show scene etc
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?4-19
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Nope
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Charismatic, grateful, humble, sensitive, adventurous, I enjoy being outdoors and in nature, reflective and introspective, helpful and compassionate, sporty, positive and optimistic.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastFruit Smoothie, Fruit Salad with seeds and powders, or porridge
LunchRice Salad, herb salad, leftovers
DinnerI would cook a Veg sauce or soup, steamed veg, roasted veg, curry, stir-fry
SnackRice Cakes, Avo, Coriander, Tomato/ Peanutbutter and Banana
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Meat! I am vegan.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have a younger brother, 5 years apart, he is kind and gentle. My dad is an artist and carpenter. My Mother is wonderful, pretty crazy and she teaches me patience. She used to be sales rep and now owns a therapy practice. My dad loves me more than anything in this life although I don´t see all that much as he lives in the Netherlands, his love does not waver. My parents are divorced but we are all very close.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.