Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Onno

Personal Details

Reference # 201-61179
Name Onno
Nationality Dutch
Age 53
Gender Male
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Dutch (1st) German (1st) French (1st) Afrikaans (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Landrover Freelander
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1993

Education

Secondary Education
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Tertiary Education

University of Amsterdam

Doctorate Urban and Rural Planning -1994

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingPartner current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?My own son
What were your duties?Complete care
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving January 2014 - September 2014
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Groups from 8 to 21 players on regular basis and individual coaching
What were your duties?Head Coach Rugby U16: Jan van Riebeeck High: Planning season, managing safety, Preparing sessions, meeting with head of Rugby/Sports, coaching, managin assistant coach, administration School budget was cut and I was last outside coach in and nobody leaving so I was first to leave but have been asked to be available for next year.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2001 - March 2002
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Groups from 6 to 16 kids in the age of 3 to 10 years and private lessons for teenagers.
What were your duties?Ski Teacher: Snow & Fun: Saalbach-Hinterglemm, AustriaPlanning lessons, managing safety, oversee lunch time, organise games and challenges Season over and got other work at managing a beach club in Netherlnd.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have? 
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always been an athlete and my family is an athletic family, my mom enjoyed gymnastics and my dad played numerous sports, I love being active. I represented my country for rugby. I love skating and rowing. I have been an Austrian qualified ski instructor.  I wanted to pass my passion on and really
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From new born with my own son, with teaching skiing from 3 to 4 years old. At have coached rugby for under 16 rugby, I have taught rowing. 
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Sports and leisure activities
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Having fun
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Physical activities, I am happy to put together a schedule to suit the strengths and interests of the children I am caring for.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Assess situation. Act or contact appropriate assistance contact parents and agency.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Child being injured and in need of medical emergency care. It was at an event, I assessed the situation, made space around the child, and allow only medical care providers into the space. I have had to deal with spinal injuries in rugby when I have been reffing. 
What is your approach to discipline?Be clear and consistent.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Ask in low voice whats bothering while protecting child from hurting itself and trying to calm child.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Telling child to stop and explain why its not acceptable to do it followed by cleaning up the mess together with the child.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Explaining the need of doing the homework and clarifying that the child only can do something else if the homework is finished and checked.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, one son of two years old and my partners kids are 23 (son) and 19 (daughter).
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Active, positive, open, clear and consistent.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs on toast, with mushroom and sausages
LunchPasta, stir fry, bread roles, steak and veg, etc
DinnerPasta, stir fry, bread roles, steak and veg, etc
SnackCook?
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have a mother and two married brothers of which one has a daughter of 9.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.