Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Kendall

Personal Details

Reference # 201-60924
Name Kendall
Nationality South African
Age 23
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English ( 1st) , Afrikaans ( 3rd )

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai Getz
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2014

Education

Secondary Education
Berg vliet High School.
Tertiary Education
I am currently studying Music at UCT and I am in my second year (2015).
First aid Training? Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI worked full time as au pair during the holidays of December 2014. I had to begin varsity so I could not help Claire full time any more , but i still babysit for her occasionally.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children , Boy 3 years old Girl 5 years old.
What were your duties?My duties were to look after and play with the children , to put the 3 year old boy to bed in the afternoon, serve lunch occasionally , bath them occasionally , Help the 3 year old get dressed.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2014- current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Varied. (Boys and girls:1 -12).
What were your duties?Kidz at Heart isa company for whom I had to babysit at the 5 star hotels around Cape town. It was required of me to play with the children and put them to sleep. I normally babysat only 1 child at a time. I also assisted in the Kids clubs in the hotels where I would look after children , facilitate programs and games.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm        
12pm-6pm      
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm        
12pm-6pm      
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?1 year (2014-2015)
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved through a friend who needed someone to fill in for her. I am interested in au pairing/ babysitting, because I really have a passion for children and I have had it since a young age.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?1 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am currently studying music ,so my spare time is taken up either playing,listening or watching live gigs and concerts.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?The child I previously au paired for would refer to me as her sister and draw pictures of me and the whole family. So the best part for me was connecting with The children , watching them grow and learn and becoming part of another family.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?In my previous au pair Job I swam a lot with the children, That is some  thing I enjoy doing. I like teaching them music, singing and dancing with them. All in all playing games and having fun with them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?If I can handle the situation myself in order not to cause any further problems then I would, otherwise I would call The parents if they are around, if they were not around I would call someone who is close by that can help immediately like an ambulance or police and once I got hold of them I would call the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I once had to babysit for a child from Germany who did not speak English. He was crying and I did not know what he wanted. I handled it by asking him to point at what he wanted and tried to calm him down by distracting him with toys and books which worked.
What is your approach to discipline?My approach to discipline, is to discipline the children closest to the way their parents would, But I always encourage respect, Fairness, Rather taking something away like a treat or toy or giving the child some quite time alone but not shouting or belittling the child.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would take the child to a quit area where they could be alone and calm down and if they are still not calming down i would use things they like ( like a favourite toy) to calm them down.I would try to distract them from the situation that is causing the outburst.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would ask them to help me clean the mess up , tell the child not to do it again and reinforce consequences for doing what the child did like taking away TV time and give them other materials to be creative with.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Reinforce why school is so important and give them an incentive like a treat for them to finish.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?3-13 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes occasional babysitter for Claire Rabe and Kidz at Heart.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as responsible and mature but still light- hearted and fun. I would say I am trustworthy, reliable and hardworking.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs, bacon , oats, french toast
Lunchsandwiches, wraps
Dinnerpasta,chicken,vegetables , meat, rice
Snackfruit and nuts , biltong .
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Curry
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am one of 2 siblings , I have an older sister who is 28. I am currently living with her and my mother.  We have close family ties. We appreciate our close family life.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.