Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Natasha

Personal Details

Reference # 201-60888
Name Natasha
Nationality South African
Age 43
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English ( 1st), Afrikaans (2nd). Conversational French.

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public) 
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2004

Education

Secondary Education
Plumstead High-1995
Tertiary Education
 No. I am a professional au pair.
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingStill employed. 2005
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Daughter 4months, Son 2 years
What were your duties?Personal assistant and au pair
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2004- current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 children of which 2 daughters, 7 and 11. Son also 7. Started when Hannah was a year and nine months.Look after 7 year olds from newborn.
What were your duties?Personal errands, fetching kids from school take to extra activities. Give them lunch and help with their home work.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time Negotiable
Part time Negotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 20004
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I did ad hoc baby sitting at school and I went to au pair in Holland when I was 19 for a year.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?New born
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love reading and walking and being in nature.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Watching a child reach their full potential.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Outdoors activities. We go for walks. We go to Rush, the Aquaruim and  all other fun and educational activities Cape Town has to offer. We go to make pottery at Clay cafe in Hout bay. We love hikes in the mountain. Outings to the beach or to Aqua branch.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?

When a child in my care fell out of a tree he broke his arm. I put his arm in a sling. I asked the manager of the play park for a dish cloth. Then went to the emergency section of Medi- clinic. Then I notified the mom. The little daughter I look after fell her chin open in the play park. I stopped the blood. Took her to Constantia bergh emergency where she got stitches. I then notified the mom.

What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Coming face to face with a boom slang at the world of birds and they gave me the name and number of a guy who would come and remove the snake. I removed the children to safety immediately. I calmly explained to them there is a snake in the tree and we have to get away.
What is your approach to discipline?I am stern with the kids and they generally listen ..and if not I chat to the parents about it in front of the kids. The two families I work with are vastly different. I can explain to the one family's kids what is wrong and right. The other children needs more firmer discipline. I discuss the discipline with the mom and their mom reprimand them. they continuously test the boundries. I have a star chart with them.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?A two year old tantrum is not always the same because of different personalities. I had one who moaned a lot.I spoke to her calmly and explain why it is inappropriate. I had to deal with a child who had a fit  and I waited out the situation and calmed her down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?We clean the wall together so that they can accept the responsibility for what they do wrong and I discuss with them why it is wrong. I then give them alternative art materials to express their creativity.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will discuss why it is necessary to do home work. Explain the reason for home work and the consequences if you do not do home work.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Infants to 5. Teenagers are tricky.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?For both employers given as references.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am  extremely patient, I walk away to calm down in a volatile situation. I am extremely hard working. I work very long hours. I sometimes get home at ten in  the evening.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal, oats, cornflakes
LunchToasted sandwich  or mac and cheese
DinnerFish fingers and corn and potatoes. I cook for my afternoon/evening au pair work family.
SnackDepending on age popcorn fruit and juice or water
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Not really. I follow a recipe very well. I can make special requests if I have a recipe.
How do you handle a crying baby?Generally the baby is crying for a reason like teething. I hold the baby and rock the baby and try to find the reason why the baby is crying and see that all the baby's basic needs are met.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Their safety. Then address basic needs and care for them in general.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Sand play, water play. Go for walks with the dogs. Put them in the car and go to Tokai forest. I take them to the bicycle track.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?I go down to their eye level and talk to them calmly and find out what is wrong. Five minutes into the tantrum I would remove the child to the car and chat to her there.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?Gently with lots of patience. Kids are all different so some will start telling you when they want to go. Others wont tell you and you will have to remind them that they have to go to the bathroom. I will sit with the child while they are on the potty and then we will progress from their to the toilet. We sit there and read a book while in the bathroom. I will ask the child at regular intervals if they need to go to the bathroom.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?They generally love playing together with other children and you have to supervise their play. They learn social skills by playing with other children. it is very important that children play outside for all kinds of motor skills development.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?We play with building blocks. Measuring volume with water. Structured and unstructured play with age appropriate and educational toys.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old? How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?I don't like to allow them to watch television for very long. They can watch cartoons for a little while before bed time that are age appropriate but not through the day at all.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?I have organized lots of play dates for my au pair families. I am actively involved and encourage the children in play activities. I will always supervise the children and not leave them unattended.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes. I have a lot of experience with junior school home work.
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?Yes. I do that all the time with supervised play dates.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?I stay there and wait for the children all the time.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?Aqua branch and Rush. Any physically challenging activities like skate boarding and cycling.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes I do that for the families I work for.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?I am very organized and punctual because with working for two au pair families I have to be.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I live with my parents. My parents are retired. my one sister has a girl of 6. She works for a logistics company. We are a close family. My dad used to be a general staff member at UCT in the applied math department. My mom was a nurse at City park and then worked for the council at the baby and family planning clinics.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.