Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Julia

Personal Details

Reference # 201-60815
Name Julia
Nationality South African
Age 25
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Reno Clio 3 2013
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?22 May 2012

Education

Secondary Education
St.Mary´s School Waverley (Johannesburg) - 2012
Tertiary Education

Silwood school of cookery (certificate) - 2013

Events management online course 8 weeks certificate - UCT - 2014 

Currently studying a Bachelor of Education degree through UNISA (2018)

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2014 -2016
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Girl aged 10 in Grade 6
What were your duties?I Tutor her occasionally in all subjects with the exception of xhosa and occasionally helping with lifting. I work for them daily when it is exam time and occasionally during term time.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2006-2011: I moved to Cape town
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?

2006- 2011: Nursery school children(ages 1 year to 6 years old)

2008 -2011: Personal capacity: 1 boy, from birth

What were your duties?

From 2006 to 2011 I assisted at the nursery school where Candy was a teacher, during the school holidays. I got in at about 7h30, the children would arrive, we would then do free play and monitoring until 10h00, We would then serve snacks. After that we did a creative projects and crafts. After that we would have play and then serve lunch. We would then finish at 13h00, I would then have to assist in packing up and cleaning. 

From 2008 to 2011: I would go over on a Friday or Saturday to look after the son so that Candy could have a night off with her husband. I was responsible for changing and feeding him. He is very active, so we did a lot of activities as he got older. Later I also prepared him food and had assisted with bathing him from the age of about 1 years old.

  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2014. I assist them when the family is in Cape Town. Ongoing.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 baby from the age of 3 months
What were your duties?Babysitting, changing diapers, feeding, playing, putting him to sleep.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2015-2017
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls aged 16 and 17
What were your duties?

I au paired for two girls at Herschel. Helping with lifts and extra mural activities as well as looking after them and staying with them when the parents are away.

  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leaving 2017 -
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 
What were your duties?

I work at Bishops Preparatory as a student teacher. I do a variety of tasks such as facilitator, tutor as well as substitute classes when needed.

Do you know the applicant? 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since the age of 12 I used to assist at the Jolly D's Playshop during school holidays. I would assist in the care of the infants so that the teachers could concentrate on the older children. Then from the age of 15 I started au pairing for my au pair when she had her first child. I have been passionate about childcare since a very young age and love working with children, hence I am doing my Bachelors degree in education.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I began working at a nursery school during holidays, which interested me in children and led to me developing my passion, which is why I am studying to become a teacher.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6months old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I study in the morning and aupair 3 times a week. I am a cross fitter and love to cook and bake.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love seeing how children grow and develop. Their laughter and energy makes me happy to be around them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy physical activities such as outings to parks as well as baking and making crafts with them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would contact the parents immediately and use my knowledge to the best of my ability to resolve the situation. Depending on the severity I would contact emergency personal if need be.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have been lucky enough to not have encountered any difficult situations. However I would handle situations as calmly as possible to keep the children safe and happy.
What is your approach to discipline?I would first approach the parents regarding their parenting methods but I would use positive discipline and ensure the child/children were aware of their mistake and would encourage to not do it again.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would approach the child calmly and attempt to reason with him/her to come to an agreement using positive reinforcement. Once the child was calm I would remind them that tantrums are not necessary.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain to the child that what they have done was wrong and that they must not do it again because there will be consequences.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain the consequences to them and use positive reinforcement to encourage them to complete their work.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All ages (new born to 16 years)
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes I work for Natalie and Marita and occasionally Camilla
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a very kind hearted and caring girl. I look out for all my friends and family and I am always willing to help. I am a happy person and like to make other people happy.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastFrench toast or Bacon and eggs
LunchMacaroni and cheese
DinnerSpaghetti Bolognese
SnackApples with peanut butter
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My mom and her boyfriend live in Johannesburg where I grew up. I have two sisters who also live in JHB. One is married with two young boys and the other is a nursery school teacher. I have a twin brother who lives with me in Cape Town and studies at UCT.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.