Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Megan

Personal Details

Reference # 201-60656
Name Megan
Nationality South African
Age 26
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Volkswagen Polo Vivo 2014
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2011

Education

Secondary EducationRhenish Girls High School
Tertiary Education

UNISA:3rd year -2015

Currently completing my Law (LLB) Degree

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2013- April 2015, I needed to focus on my studies
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 boys, age 6 years and 3 years old
What were your duties?In the beginning I would fetch them at 12h15,at this point they only needed to be dropped. In 2014 I took on more responsibility, taking them to activities, taking them to sports, waiting and entertaining the youngest while the brother was at sports. During the holidays I would take them on outings and spend full days with them. I would cook on occasion.I enjoyed working with the family. I got on well with my employer and am still in contact with them.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2013- April 2015, I needed to focus on my studies
Number of children, age and gender of the children when you started?3 kids age 4 years, 2 years old and 10 months old
What were your duties? Originally fetching and dropping the kids off from school, occasionally taking them to school in the mornings and then from 2015, I would take them to extra murals. I was also left as fully responsible for all 3 children on occasion when the parents went away for the weekend.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2013 until April 2015, I left to focus on my exams
Number of children, age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl, 11 years old
What were your duties?Fetch her from school, do homework, doing projects, I assisted in tutoring her in English. I would then take her to dancing. She was a WP hiphop dancer. she did dancing every day until late in the evening, I would take her to ballet, hiphop etc. During the holidays, we would go out, do shopping, go to movies, etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since January 2013.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Did it part time while I studied. I got involved by advertising online. I understand children very well, I get on with them. My mom introduced me to a safe house where I volunteered after school. I got really attached to them and loved it so it was natural for me to pursue this line of work while I study.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?10 Months
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love going to the gym and keeping active! Enjoy socialising and having a balanced life.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love how a child can creep into your heart! Children are so innocent and funny and I love being a part of that!
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I prefer doing things outside or arts and crafts etc. (I detest kids being put in front of a TV or ipad and being left to let technology rule their lives). Picnic in the park, riding bicycles, baking cupcakes, playing hide-and-go-seek, reading a story together, anything in general that kids enjoy!
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Well depends on the emergency, but in general I would make sure the child is breathing first and fore most, then attend to a wound if it is severe, I would then phone the parents and determine if its necessary to take to hospital/doctor.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The most difficult situation I was placed in would have to be when a 18 month old baby started chocking on a piece of apple. I had to get the apple out from his throat, fortunately I was right by him when the incident occurred and he was not starved of oxygen for too long!
What is your approach to discipline?I do not believe in any form of corporal punishment. I'm not a strict person and I like letting a child be a child, but if the need arises when a child needs to be disciplined I use the method of "time out" and then when the child is calm I will explain why I placed them in time out and make sure they understand what they did was naughty/incorrect.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would take the child to the time out area and make sure that they calm down before their time out time commences.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will remove the pen/pencil, place the child in the time out area for the time period, after time out is completed I will speak to the child and explain what they did was naughty and that they will have to clean the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Remove privileges or place the child in time out. At this age they will be well aware that what they are doing is wrong.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?1-10 years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I´m a fun, loving, ambitious 22 year old that enjoys life to the fullest. I know what I want in life and am working hard to achieve my goals. I have a strong personality and am not afraid to voice my opinion if I disagree something. I enjoy a active/healthy lifestyle that involves gym, running and swimming! Determined, positive, ambitious, outgoing, loving, caring are a few words to describe myself.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastA healthy cereal with a piece of fruit
LunchA yoghurt, some form of protein (chicken, fish fingers etc), sliced strawberries, sliced carrots and cucumber, a few pretzels
DinnerChicken, broccoli pasta with some cheese
Snackfruit skewers or sliced apple or some nuts or a yoghurt
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am not educated on cooking Halaal or Kosher foods
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am an only child and still live with my wonderful parents. My dad worked for many years in the retail industry, he has since retired and now works from home. My mom is an auditor for a popular bank.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.