Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Miriam

Personal Details

Reference # 201-59969
Name Miriam
Nationality South African
Age 35
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Shona(1st) ,English(1st), Xhosa (basic)(conversational), Ndebele (conversational)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Aygo 2012
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license? May 2013

Education

Secondary Education
Pamushana (Zimbabwe) (2003)
Tertiary Education

BA Bachelors of Social work - UCT - 2007 - Including 1 gap year - 2012 and I am planning to further my studies in 2016.

EduCare course - Cooking and nutrition - 2008

EduCare course - Developmental Stimulation - 2008

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFrom 2007 until 2012 I graduated from university and I had to work full time as a social worker.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?When I started the children where 3 and 5 years and the third one was born later on.
What were your duties?I would work for them over weekends from Friday evening to Sunday night. Organising stimuating play cooking ,bathing , supervision of tasks, homework. Cleaning up (light housework). I stayed over the weekend therefore there was no need for lifting. I would do a lot of activities with them, outdoor play, fantasy play, games etc. I had a very close relationship with Joanne. She was very open and approachable as an employer. They were very supportive when my mom passed away. I still see them and socialise with them.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSince 2011. The family only visit Capetown annually in December for about three weeks. I still assist them.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?They have a 4 year old boy
What were your duties?I take the son for outings, going to the beach and parks. Providing stimulating play activities. Its a full time job when they are here. I have to plan the days activities in advance. I also do the  cooking and light housework for them.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2013 to December 2014: I needed a higher salary. I also need to move to a more medical field in order to complete my masters so I am now assisting in a social worker capacity at a hospital.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?From infancy to 16 years old.
What were your duties?Mainly court work. Cases would be referred to me by the court. I would then have to do assessment of the home and what the issues are in the home (sexual abuse, substance abuse, neglect, unemployment), I would then make recommendations to assist them either referring the parents to rehab, recommending the child to be removed to a place of safety, assisting in sourcing jobs for unemployed people. The things I enjoyed most about this experience was learning and being involved in child protection. Learning about different forms of abuse, how to combat this and the resources to help them. The success stories. It was very rewarding taking a child from a dangerous situation and seeing them thrive. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm            
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started looking after children since 2007 up until now.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?When I moved to Cape Town with a plan of furthering my studies in 2005 (higher education). I took on part time jobs to save up for tuition. I worked as a waitress and realized I couldn´t cope but when I tried domestic work I spent lots of time with children that is when I discovered my passion for little ones.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?In Hout bay I worked for a year and the baby boy was only three months old. I worked full time and did sleep training the baby during night babysitting.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love hiking , reading, driving in the countryside, farmlands and sight seeing. I also enjoy me time with movies . I take part in worldwide preaching in communities.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Their inquisitive minds get me thinking and fascinated and just taking part in their carefree life through play is great therapy for me as an adult.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Outdoor adventure fantasy play/ pretend play board games art cooking and baking.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Ensure the surroundings of the child are safe before calling for help. Conduct CPR making sure their air pipe is clear of any choking hazard. Use the medical kit for injuries.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Separation anxiety is still daunting for me but I have released that the most important thing to do is remain calm and ensure the child that they are safe and ensuring the child that the parents will eventually return. I struggle with pre -adolescents who have behavioral problems but what I try and do is not show my frustration and instead of dictating to them i approach the issue in a way that encourages team work because that makes them feel respected and they respond well.
What is your approach to discipline?Discipline should be implemented with the main priority of given the child a positive lesson regarding their behavior. Children need to know and experience consequences of their behavior and take responsibility of their actions. This should be done with patience, kindness and tenderness not forgetting assertiveness. The tone of voice in itself is enough to show the child the seriousness of the matter.Discipline should also be give age appropriately.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Acknowledge the tantrum and explain that there are better ways of expressing their frustration. Should it persist ensure the child that you will attend to them when they calm down then ignore them ensuring that they don´t hurt themselves and those around them. When the tantrum subsides discuss the feeling involved and how else they can handle it , should they need to apologize to someone encourage the apology and hug it out .
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain why it is not appropriate and let them clean it up with your little help.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Understand their decision not to do homework, offer your help and take away luxuries until the task is done.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From infancy to preadolescence.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I babysit in the evenings for a family in Constantia since last year.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a mix of vibrancy and reservedness. I take my time to read the situation before I unleash my crazy self . once i am familiar with my surroundings I make sure I have fun. With children I tend to first build a relationship before imposing my activities on them. that gives us time to get to know each others personalities.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastHand cinnamon pancakes (Sunday morning), freshly squeezed juice
LunchTuna , mayo sandwich, cut up cucumber , carrots, water
DinnerMacaroni cheese, steamed veggies, water
Snackcut up fresh fruit, rice cake, water
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am the last born of seven children. My siblings and I were raised by a single mother . I have three siblings staying in Capetown and we keep contact regularly. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.