Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Olivia

Personal Details

Reference # 201-59467
Name Olivia
Nationality South African
Age 24
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English ( First language level), Spanish ( Second language level), Afrikaans ( second language level).

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Auris
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2013

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend highschoolHerschel Girl´s Highschool : 2013
What was your passrate for Matric84%
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?UCT: BA Languages :2014-2016
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2015-current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?  1 boy aged 3 and one girl aged 6
What were your duties? Babysitting. Being responsible for everything in connection to the children while the parents were not there.

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving 2016
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 8 month and 7 years old girls
What were your duties? Babysitting

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving 2012-current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?6 and 8 year old daughters
What were your duties? Babysitting and entertaining the children with age appropriate games.

Reference 4:

Reference 5:

Reference 6:

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm        
12pm-6pm        
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm        
12pm-6pm        
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been involved professionally with child care since 2013
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting? I started baby sitting and loved it. I always loved children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for? An 8 month old baby girl.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs? I love doing Yoga and eat very healthy. I absolutely adore animals and are obsessed with dogs- I am also a dog walker. I love being in nature and do frequent hikes. I love to travel and spend time with friends and family.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life? Children live in the present. I love seeing them develop and grow.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children? I love taking them outside to explore nature, do yoga with them. I love singing and reading to them and to actively participate in any in- and outdoors age appropriate and fun and educational games with them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency? I am very good handling emergencies. I stay very calm. I will apply the necessary first aid and call the appropriate emergency services if needed. Then I will notify the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it? I baby sat a very active girl who had ADHD and who went into a rage and even bit me. I managed to calm her down enough to go to sleep by just treating her in a calm but firm way.
What is your approach to discipline? Positive reinforcement. A child feels safe when they know what the boundaries are.When they are good they get rewarded appropriately.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum? I will calmly wait the tantrum out and divert the child's attention away from himself to something that will engage him positively.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall? I will explain why he should rather draw on appropriate materials and supply it. We will clean the wall together so that he can see that one has to take responsibility for your actions.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework? I will let them take a break and find out if something is bothering him. I will make sure the child understands the work and promise a reward, like a favourite game on completion of the home work.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with? All ages.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones? Yes for most of the above mentioned in the reference section.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they? No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself? I am independent. I am mindful and living a healthy and balanced life style is very important to me. I am very reliable and patient. I am a deep thinker and always gives my best in everything that I do.I am warm and have a fun loving nature.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack) Yes
Breakfast Yoghurt, fruit, muesli.
Lunch Cous-cous salad with a protein and vegetables
Dinner Chicken or vegetable pasta
Snack Cheese, fruit, nuts and biltong
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking? No. I am a pescaterian but do not mind making basic meat dishes.
  
 How do you handle a crying baby? I pick it up, soothe it by rocking it gently and singing calmly. I will do a little pressure massage if needed.
 What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old? To keep it safe since it is not aware of potential danger in its environment yet. Protect it from sharp corners, open wall plugs etc.
 What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old? I would play fun and age appropriate games with them that stimulates all their senses. I love singing and communicating with them.
 Are you capable of looking after twins? Yes, I have experience with looking after two 18 month babies and their 6 year old sister at the same time.
 How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place? I would go down to the child's level and talk calmly to calm the child down and remove him to a place of safety like taking him home.
 How do you feel potty training should be approached? With patience. You have to remind the child often to use to let you know when they have a need for the toilet and put them on the potty often. The child should always be praised for positive results.
  What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day? Outdoor play is crucial for all children at any age. They need to engage with their peers so that they can learn social skills like sharing.
 What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old? I would play puzzles, building blocks and other age appropriate games with them. We will do lots of arts and crafts and play with play dough. All games that enhance their fine- and gross motor skills.
 What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old? I will explain to them why what they did was wrong and give a short time out.
  What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
 How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
 I think children should spend at most half an hour watching age appropriate educational shows, but I do not think children should be expose to TV. When I am around I keep them occupied with active games in- and outdoors.
  Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation? Yes I love actively participating with children and encourage play daes with other peers.
 Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes I am academically strong and would love to assist with home work.
  Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities? Yes. I will wait their for the time it takes.
 What kind of outings would you organise for the children? I would take them to the beach, for hikes into nature and to fun and educational places like the park, aquarium etc.
 What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old? I will play board games with them and encourage them to have hobbies. 
 Are you happy to prepack lunches for children? Yes I love packing nutritious and healthy lunches.
 Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual? I am a very organized and punctual person. It is crucial when you have to juggle all the children's schedules.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?. My mother lives overseas where she is a cook in a cafe. My brother studies over seas as well. Despite the distances we are a very close family and I visit my mom or she visits me every two or three months.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.