Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lauren

Personal Details

Reference # 201-5944
Name Lauren
Nationality South African
Age 33
Gender Female
Marital Status Engaged
Languages English(1st),Afrikaans(1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Chevrolet Aveo 2006 Model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, Seat belts working in front and back
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2007

Education

Secondary EducationSchool: Principia College High School Town: Oudtshoorn
Tertiary EducationCape Peninsula University of Technology Course of study: Tourism Management
First aid TrainingYes
Other trainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2006 - Mid June 2009 I moved to Cape Town so I was not able to babysit any more in Oudtshoorn.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two children. Gabby, age 7 and Matthew, age 4.
What were your duties?Entertaining the children such as playing board games, baking and doing outdoor activities such as playing in the park, taking them for walks and watching them in the swimming pool. I would prepare lunched, light meals and snacks for them.
  

Reference 2:


Reference 3:


Reference 4:


Reference 5:


Reference 6:


Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
PLETTENBERGBAY

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started Au pairing and babysitting for extra pocket money in High School. I also really do enjoy looking after children so it has always been something I enjoy doing.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?4 years old.
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy going to the gym, and doing outdoor activities such as surfing, jogging and walking.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I have no other jobs at the moment. My hobbies are surfing and exercising (jogging and going to gym.)
What are your interests?My interests are being around friends,socialising, I also enjoy visiting different towns when I have the time.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I really enjoy watching them grow and learn.I also enjoy seeing the smiles on their faces and it really makes me happy when they get excited and happy about something.Helping a child learn and experience the different things in life is really important to me as I want to be apart of their growing up years, as I know I can contribute to their lives in a very positive way.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing educational games, doing outdoor activities such as playing ball, playing in the garden and taking them on excursions to places like the aquarium and Kirstenbosch Gardens for example.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would try my best to help the child as quickly as possible, call the parents if it is a serious case and then definitely take the child to the nearest hospital. I will also try and keep the child calm and tell them that everything is alright so that they can feel a bit more at ease with the situation.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?It was really hard trying to get the children I used to babysit to go to sleep but I was strict in a nice way so that the children knew that there would be consequences to follow if they did not listen to me. They knew that they would get in trouble with their parents so they learnt after a while be good when it came to bed time.
What is your approach to discipline?I will always respect the children in order to create a mutual understanding of respect between us. The children definitely need to be disciplined, because I think being disciplined is a great character to have that can be used throughout life if you are taught to be disciplined from a young age and therefore I feel that all children should know the importance of being disciplined.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would talk to them in a calm manner and try to make the situation better in order to make the child feel better, but the child must still know that ´no´ means ´no´ if that is what is causing the tantrum, for example. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will tell them in a serious voice that it is completely wrong and unacceptable. I will also explain to them why it is wrong so that they understand why they should not do it again. I would also ask them to help me clean the wall. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will explain why they need to do their homework and why it is important. I would try and make it fun for them and then assist them again. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any ages from 3 years and older
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I occasionally work for Nikki Zwarts during school holidays.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a very friendly, loving, fun filled individual that is always game for a new and exciting challenge and experience in life. I am also a very kind and helpful person. I always try and respect others as I feel it is important to have mutual respect amongst individuals in the world. I am very open-minded so I am always open to new ideas that come my way.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastFrench toast or flap jacks or cereal.
LunchFish fingers, sandwiches and fruit
DinnerMac and Cheese , Cottage pie, Chicken schnitzels wit oven baked chips.
SnackCut up fruit or yoghurt with dried fruit.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am not very comfortable with cooking big meals and pork.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have 2 sisters, My older sister, Amy, is 22 years old and lives and works in London. My younger sister, Julia, is 18 and doing her matric year this year. My parents are still married, my dad is an ostrich farmer in Oudtshoorn and my mother is a nursery school teacher in Oudtshoorn. We are a very close family and all get a long very well. We also all accept one another for who we are as individuals.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.