Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Melissa

Personal Details

Reference # 201-591
Name Melissa
Nationality South African
Age 35
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English/Afrikaans

Requirements

Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
Are you in good health?Yes
Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Golf 4 - 2004 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?I have been driving since 2002

Education

Secondary EducationMatric
Tertiary Education1 year of psychology Varsity College Rondebosch 2006
First Aid Training Yes
Other trainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI helped them occasionally for the period of 1 year.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?2 children, age 9 and 5
What were your duties?Babysitting, ensuring they ate their dinner, reading stories etc.
Your comments on the experience with this positionReally nice family to work for. 

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFor about year
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?2 children, 6 years and 10 years
What were your duties?Babysitting,ensuring they ate dinner, reading stories etc.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingWhen needed for the last 5 years
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?3,5,8 and 11 when I first babysat them.
What were your duties?All babysitting duties.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I am so interested in little children I have always had a passion for them, I believe this makes me a better person.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy helping out with my moms business.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy being at home, reading and spending time with my pets.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love babies and children in general.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Reading, cooking, teaching and listening. Going to the park, watching movies.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Drive the child to the nearest hospital, if they are hurt. Or sort it out myself, depends on the emergency.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I was babysitting for a 9 yr old boy and he had a boil, I picked him up and it accidentally burst, he didn't complain about it but I felt really bad.
What is your approach to discipline?What ever the parents use I would use. I prefer using distraction or using the recommended guidelines for timeout ( 1 minute per year of age).

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would let the child settle then ask them why they had the tantrum. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would take the crayon or pen away and tell them that its wrong what they are doing then make it an activity to clean it up.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try and make it interesting and explain how important it is to do homework. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with children of any age, particularly the younger children.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Occasionally, when asked.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am loyal and friendly, I like to hang out with my friends and family.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastToast and eggs or cereal
LunchSandwich or hotdog
DinnerChicken and veggies or a pasta dish
SnackYogurt or fruit or dried nuts
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have a very close family we enjoy doing things together. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.