Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Carly

Personal Details

Reference # 201-58940
Name Carly
Nationality South African
Age 34
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (2nd, conversational only)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)VW Golf 1998
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2006

Education

Secondary Eduction
Radley College - 2003
Tertiary Education

BA Psychology Degree- 2007: (Majored in Psychology & Education);

Honours Degree in Psychology- 2009

Registering at UNISA in April 2015 to complete BComm

Registering with UNISA in January 2016 for Industrial/ Organisational Psychology Degree

First aid TrainingNo, I will complete it by July 2015.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingOne and a half years working for the family. No need for me after 6 months. Re-employed by the family in the following year for the duration of a year. Reason for leaving, I relocated to Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Boy- aged 2 Girl- aged 7
What were your duties?Main responsibilities included: • Looking after two children, aged 7 and 3 years old • Collecting them from school and accompanying them to any and all outside activities • Assisting with and ensuring that all homework and projects were completed • Entertaining them (play, outings, etc.) • Shopping and running errands for Mrs Spencer
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Officially, one and a half years. As the oldest in my family, and in a non official capacity, I assisted with my 3 brothers especially the youngest who is 6 years my junior. I was in varsity at the time and staying with my dad in Johannesburg and was his au pair for the duration of the period.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I became involved during my studies, at the time I was considering becoming a remedial teacher.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?2 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy spending time outdoors on the weekends with my friends.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I really enjoy watching children grow as individuals and positively impacting on their development. I appreciate their curiosity and for the most part, untainted views on the world.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I am a knowledge gatherer by nature and really enjoy learning new things, at the same time, I also enjoy being a part of a child´s learning processes. Play time is another favorite of mine and have fun using my imagination as well as theirs to entertain each other.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would immediately call the relevant emergency contact and do my best to aid in any and all ways possible.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I was fortunate enough to never encounter an unmanageable situation. I think the most difficult thing I encountered was general unwillingness to attend extra mural activities, complete homework assignments, etc. I handled this with a lot of patience and reasoning.
What is your approach to discipline?I have found that if you include the child in decision making they almost always end up making the right decision as opposed to you being forceful.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?By being patient and appealing to their reason. Children often react to your reaction. If you take the intensity away from the situation by remaining calm they will often tire of it and stop the behaviour
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explaining to them why they should not draw on the wall by making it relevant to the child in some way. ie, imagine I drew all over something important to you.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?By offering a reward of play afterwards.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?2 years - 16 years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, but I am still in contact with them.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as a very friendly and outgoing person. I´m a positive person by nature and love having a good laugh. I have a strong sense of responsibility and a good work ethic. I´m also very driven to succeed and pride myself in a job well-done.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastFruit and Yogurt
LunchSandwiches
DinnerA meat with any combination of salad/veg/starch, grilled chicken, grilled fish, etc.
Snackcarrot sticks/ cucumber and hummus
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?My cooking skills could be improved on, but I am definitely capable of learning.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My family and I are very close. My Brother studies in Pretoria and my dad lives in Johannesburg. My mom lives in Cape Town. I miss my dad and my brother very much. As a family we communicate openly and are hugely supportive of each other.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.